Skip to content

Shop your stash

July 9, 2010

Over the years, I have accumulated way more clothes that I need. I have had some things since high school, yet they are still in good shape and I still wear them. But like many people, I’m a creature of habit when it comes to fashion. I tend to reach for the same gray blazer, the same black pencil skirt, and the same floral tops over and over again when figuring out what I want to wear to work. Then I look and there are all of these clothes with hand neglected, wising to be worn. So my new goal is to try and liberate as many pieces as I can over the next few weeks.

(This is only part of the madness that is my closet. Skirts and dresses are on the other side.)

I am currently on a no-buy (or as Shannon likes to call it, a shop block.) No shirts, no shoes, no nothing. My beloved laptop recently fried (literally) so I’m saving up for that and paying off my school loans. And I also don’t NEED anything. So due to my shopping handicap, I am now shopping in my own closet on a daily basis. My goal for the next week is to wear something to work (or wherever) everyday that I haven’t work in month (and potentially years). Obviously I will not be wearing any sweaters (hello, heatwave in D.C.), but I am sure I will be able to figure out a wide range of cute options from work. I have also been pretty good and steering clear of fleeting trends over the years, so my wardrobe is still pretty up to date.

I’m contemplating photographing all of my outfits and sharing them here next week and telling y’all exactly how long I’ve had the pieces, when the last time I wore them was, etc. Maybe. If I don’t look like a total nerd taking pictures of myself. I can already think of a few forgotten favorites that will be brought out next week. I’m also including accessories and shoes in this (I have countless shoes that I have neglected). I just want to share the love with everything in my closet.

Can you think of any things you’ve had stashed away that need to be broken out? Do you like to shop your stash for new outfits?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 2:54 pm

    I would love to see outfit photos with your neglected clothing. I just got rid of a huge portion of my wardrobe, so I’m actually on the hunt for basic pieces and in the process of building a wardrobe that more accurately reflects my sense of style. I’m trying to use this whole moving thing as an opportunity to start fresh on my wardrobe, especially since I got rid of so many pieces I hadn’t worn in awhile.

  2. Robin Knutson permalink
    July 10, 2010 11:49 pm

    A great girls night in party idea — have your besties go through their closets and bring it over to your casa and have a fun clothing swap! It’s free (aside from what you’ll spend in tequila & margarita mix!!) and y’all will be looking great!

Trackbacks

  1. A little bit of heaven « Thrifty Threads
  2. Multi-purpose: The forgotten jumper « Thrifty Threads
  3. An accessory to inspiration « Thrifty Threads
  4. Some reflection « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

