Skip to content

Stash Shopping: Day 3 (Part 1)

July 14, 2010

I was just discussing with Melanie how awkward it is to take pictures of yourself or have others take them for you, just to show off an outfit. But in the name of Thrify Threads, I will do it with honor.

Day three and I said yesterday to stay tuned for a twist and no, that twist is not that I am actually wearing pants (shock horror). In the summer, I try to steer clear of dress pants just because a) it’s so freaking hot outside and b) dresses and skirts are so much cuter. However, I am always freezing in my office so sometimes I don’t mind breaking the pants out.

These are special pants. And by special pants I mean they were gifted to me by a friend after I crashed at her place and had nothing to wear, and I had to go to work. They looked good on me, so she insisted I keep them. I had to hem them, but they have been one of my staples for the past two or so years. Even though I attach the word “staple” to them, I very rarely wear them. Everyone needs a good pair of black pants, but I always find myself gravitating to other dress slacks over these. They are from H&M, I believe.

The shirt…oh the shirt. I have actually been having a struggle with this shirt. It has gone in and out of my giveaway clothes pile a few times, and I just can’t seem to part with it even though I hardly wear it. Something about it I just love so much. I don’t know if it is the ruffles, the print, the green, or the lace detail. It was a pretty cheap find from Charlotte Russe right after I moved up to D.C. Maybe there is some sentimental value to it. It came with a green ribbon belt thingy which I do sometime wear with it, but today I paired it with a skinny black belt from F21 (which is also where my gray cami is from). I never ever wear the necklace, a birthday gift from a friend my senior year of college, so I figured why not.

I have realized today why I don’t wear these great heels that much. They are Issac Mizrahi for Target and I really love them because gray is one of my favorite colors to wear. But they sort of slip off as I am walking, which is quite a problem for someone who is accident prone like me. They also rub my feet weird and give me slight blisters. That being said, I will still keep them. What is wrong with me?

So that’s day three. Or day three part one I should say. Stay tuned tomorrow for part two plus Thursday’s outfit.

Also, look at how long my hair is. Craziness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 5:10 pm

    I think this is my favorite outfit of the week so far. It’s very, very sleek. Love the belt, love the necklace, love that you’re posting every day because I have writer’s block and I’m lazy. Love it all.

Leave a Reply

