Skip to content

Stash Shopping: Day 5 … and closing thoughts

July 16, 2010

Here we are at the last day of my closet shopping experience. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried. Well, not really.

(What up, y’all?)

This top is a forgotten gem. It has been stashed away in my closet and has been with me since high school. I have photos of me wearing this to my junior year awards ceremony. It actually doesn’t fit me anymore, but I decided to wear it more in a cardigan style. This is from the GAP. It’s weird because I wore a ton of GAP when I was in high school, and now I don’t go in there unless they are having a sale. I guess a lot of things change when you are off your parents’ payroll. It’s denim with vertical stitch detailing in the front. (White cami is from F21). I just can’t seem to part with it, but I think wearing it today has made me realize it is time to let go. I do still like it, regardless of it being too small, but unlike my other forgotten favorites from the week, I think this one needs to go. Just a feeling I have. I’m sure it will find a suitable home.

The skirt I have worn a few times in the past month or so, but had sat dormant in my closet since moving up to D.C. It’s just a typical khaki pencil skirt. I want to say it’s from Kohls, but I’m not going to commit to it. I for sure bought it when I was in college, potentially high school. I should really date my clothes when I buy them so I can keep track…kidding, of course. The belt (man, I have a belt problem) is the same one that I wore Tuesday from F21 just in brown. Can’t seem my shoes, but they are just brown flats from Charlotte Russe.

So what are my thoughts after this whole week of stepping outside of my typical fashion comfort zone? I thought it’d be a lot easier than it ended up being. I’d stand in my closet looking for stuff to wear and I found multiple options. But none of them really called to me. I guess that’s the reason I never wear some of these things anymore. While some of the things I wore this week I have rediscovered in a new way, others might be hitting the Goodwill pile.

I think a lot of my reasons for holding on to clothes are the memories attached to them. Oh this is the shirt I wore to this party in college. I loved wearing this dress while in Oxford. So and so gave me this. I need to realize even if I get rid of the shirt, the memories and the people associated with that item will still live on in my head.

I did, however, enjoy taking pics of my outfits everyday and sharing them on here (even if I am slightly awkward and y’all might have gotten bored). I think adding a challenge to picking my wardrobe like this makes me think out of the box. Maybe I’ll even think of other stash shopping, like only wearing black and white, or something. The one thing that cannot be denied is that I have more than enough clothes and I need to embrace the items I have.

I will probably be wearing my favorite gray blazer next week … I do miss it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    July 16, 2010 4:18 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your features this week! I think “shopping your stash” is a great way rediscover items and learn what just needs to be donated. I could stand to do the same.

    But I have the same problem where I associate clothes (that I never wear) with a particular memory – just gotta get past it!

  2. July 16, 2010 4:39 pm

    Loved your posts this week! Thanks for taking the edge off my writer’s block!

    I had the same issue with getting rid of clothes before I moved up to NYC. I’d estimate that I got rid of at least half of my wardrobe. When all my junk was all over my bedroom floor and I was trying to pack, I just got in the “get rid of it if you don’t LOVE it” mentality. I can always buy new clothes, and I’m looking forward to redefining my own wardrobe and personal style.

    It was pretty difficult to look at a top and think, “I wore that out THAT night” or something similar. And I like the idea of wearing only black and white, or a similar wardrobe challenge. We should start doing that on the blog — or even swapping clothes to see how the others style certain items!

    • Katy permalink*
      July 16, 2010 4:41 pm

      I actually love the swapping of clothes idea. For some reason, a Thrify Threads Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants experiment would be so much fun.

      • July 16, 2010 9:24 pm

        I feel like we’re all fairly similar sizes … maybe Jenny’s skinnier. 😉 But I think it would be fun! However, I’m unpacking my suitcases right now and thinking maybe I didn’t get rid of as many clothes as I thought… Or maybe I just had more than I realized before.

Leave a Reply

