Skip to content

Managing bare legs in the workplace

July 22, 2010
by

From an early age, I was taught that when dressing up with a dress or skirt, one should always wear pantyhose. Thankfully, our generation has gotten away from this notion.

Bare legs are commonplace and acceptable for women in most professional environments. But where do we draw the line?

I’ve seen many fashion magazines promoting “work shorts” as a way to keep cool, yet still be dressed for the workplace. How do you feel about this?

I work in a pretty casual dress environment, yet I’ve never worn shorts to the office. I know there are many cute options these days:

They definitely aren’t styles I would wear on the weekend. But something about them doesn’t feel office appropriate.

Skirts and dresses I wear at least twice a week to keep cool. I’m just not sure I’m on board with shorts in the workplace.

Have you tried this trend? If so, what were your results?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amy winnett permalink
    July 22, 2010 10:10 am

    i actually did a couple times, probably last year around this time. and i got in trouble at work, haha. so it’s probably not something i would ever try again! although i have seen lots of women around here pull it off (and not get in trouble, grrr…haha). i think w/ heels, it’s a cute summer option, but i completely understand the hesitation. anyway, skirts are cuter!

  2. Jenny permalink*
    July 22, 2010 11:01 am

    Funny you should post this…

    NYC has suffered from a steamy heat wave this summer. I have worn my go-to 6 or 7 sundresses to the office so often that my co-workers have probably memorized them, so yesterday when I was getting dressed, I was like — what’s holding me back from trying shorts?

    I wore a basic top and cardigan with denim shorts (they’re a little longer and high-waisted). I felt weird the entire day. No one said anything, but I felt very unprofessional and like I was dressed for vacation. I think the girls in the pictures are fine though, those shorts are long enough to be considered capris!

  3. Katy permalink*
    July 22, 2010 6:25 pm

    I own a couple part of longer shorts that could be considered work appropriate, but I have never really felt brave enough to wear them to work, even on our casual days. I would also much rather wear a skirt than shorts any day. Also, my office is roughly the temperature of a walk in freezer, so if I wear a skirt or a dress, I end up covering my legs up anyway. Maybe it’s a sign I should just wear pants.

  4. July 23, 2010 1:21 pm

    The only office I’ve worn shorts to is The R&B. Actually, I did wear black dress shorts to the office back in February, but I paired them with tights so I’m pretty sure it doesn’t count.

    Longer shorts like the ones you pictured don’t look too great one me, so I don’t think I’ll ever try out this particular trend. I also find skirts and dresses more comfortable.

Leave a Reply

