Skip to content

Uninspired

August 9, 2010

It’s official: I’m in a clothing rut.

This probably isn’t news judging by my infrequent posting.

Since I moved, I’ve been making an effort to not impulsively buy new clothes. I got rid of so many items in the move, but now I practically live in the same five sundresses.

I thought moving and getting rid of things would give me a fresh start (with regards to my wardrobe) … give me a chance to define my style and finally invest in some nicer, classic pieces.

I don’t want to fall back into a pattern of buying cheap dresses and tops and then never wearing the things that don’t fit quite right. But I’m honestly not sure how to go about building a wardrobe. I know I could use some essentials — I got rid of my ill-fitting business skirts — but I’m having a hard time getting out of the thriftier mindset.

Maybe once autumn begins, I’ll feel differently. It’s difficult to get excited about getting dressed when I rotate between five or six dresses and my favorite pair of Target sandals. (And yes, I hate being one of those people who talks about the weather so constantly, but it truly does determine my mood lately.)

Is anyone else having a similar problem … fashion rut, finding it difficult to find inspiration and just general boredom with getting dressed? Granted, it sounds kind of lame, but I’m a firm believer in the “look good, feel good” mindset, so I’m not fond of being in a style rut.

Any thoughts, suggestions, tips?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    August 10, 2010 10:01 am

    I totally see where you’re coming from. I really need to work on building my classic pieces too – meaning things I can wear to work and during leisure time.

    I recommend thrift stores. You can find quality stuff there for a thrifty price. You just have to be willing to invest some time and not really be looking for anything in particular.

    • August 10, 2010 10:27 am

      Yeah, I think I’m going to have set aside some time (and money) and hit up a few of my favorite thrift stores. At least fall is coming, so I can certainly plan on buying some key items for the new season.

  2. Katy permalink*
    August 10, 2010 8:47 pm

    Everyday I go in to my closet and just stare at it blankly thinking of things to wear. I just don’t know what it is. I have tons of clothes, all of them cute in my opinion. But I just need to figure out ways to wear them that don’t bore me. I love my clothes so I need to re-ignite my love. I thought with the stash shopping a few weeks back I would, but I think the heat has just exhausted me.

  3. August 12, 2010 5:18 pm

    It always helps me to buy one new great item every so often. I just bought short cowboy boots and now I’m inspired to try them with all new outfits and go for a fresh look. It’s totally worth it to invest in some staple items and pay a little bit more- I always try to figure cost per wear. Buying $100 shoes? Well if I wear them 3 times a week and any season-Totally worth it.

    • August 12, 2010 8:08 pm

      That’s a really good idea! I recently bought this super-hot leopard-print dress, but I can’t wear it until September or October because it’s kind of a sweater-like material.

      I think my next staple investment will be nice black pumps (see my post from last week). Totally worth it if I can walk around in them and wear them a few times a week in multiple seasons.

      Oooh and I want some riding boots for fall! (I really can’t wait to wear fall styles.)

Trackbacks

  1. Just because the weather is stale doesn’t mean your wardrobe should be « Thrifty Threads
  2. Curing my fashion blues « Thrifty Threads
  3. My wish list is growing « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

