Skip to content

My wish list is growing

August 17, 2010
by

I’ve been on a shopping ban for awhile now. A ban that has been tweaked, but a ban nonetheless.

I’m at the point now where I need new clothes. Not in a wanting, but as in I really need to replenish some staples. My white cardigan is no longer perfectly white. My black flats are all scuffed up. You get the point. I am going to try and make it until the end of September to get by with what I have, but at that point, all bets are off.

So for the time being, I have had fun creating my fashion wish list. It has the same effect for me as going to a clothing web site, filling up my basket and then never checking out, but this it different. These are items I have every intend to purchase, I’m just getting some ideas on what I want already. Now this isn’t as fun as the actual act of shopping, but for the time being, it will do.

On my current wishlist

New black flats

I go through black flats like it is nobody’s business. I wear them to work. I wear them to class. I even wear them out. I usually just pop on over to Target and find whatever pair of pointy-toed black flats they have in stock, but that might be part of the problem. While I love the prices at Target, the quality isn’t all that great, so it is probably adding to the quick wear. I’m not going to go crazy and buy a $200 pair of designer flats, but here are some moderately priced ones I’ve bookmarked:

These are both from DSW. The top one is by Steve Madden and the bottom is Chinese Laundry (they have this one in a champagne color, too, which is also super cute). They are both $39.95.

Cardigans

My office is about 50 degrees year round, so I am always in needs of some good cardigans. As with the flats, I usually just pick up a few at Target, but then they only last me about a year. I have noticed a huge difference in the quality of cheap sweaters versus nicer ones, so I think this year, I might pull the trigger on fancier threads. Now, I need a new one for sure in white, but I might branch out as well.

Now yes, neither of these are white, but the style is what is important here. The one of the left is $49.95 at the GAP. I wore a lot more GAP clothes when my parents paid for my wardrobe, and I do really love the quality of their clothes. I also do love this tannish color. The one of the left is J.Crew, so that automatically makes it more expensive. On the site it is listed as $82.00, which is probably out of my price range, but I really like the style.

Blazers

Blazers are my current fashion obsession, despite the fact that it is pushing 100 every day. I wear them with skirts and dress pants to work or with shorts and a t-shirt to grab dinner. They really are so versatile and instantly add a bit of polish to your look. I also find that when in a fashion rut, mixing a blazer with a top or dress you already have is an instant boost. I already own five blazers, but two are from Forever 21, one from Target, one from WalMart and one from Kohls. I figure if I get this much wear of out them, maybe I should splurge.

I really actually quite intrigued in the tweet one on the left from Urban Outfitters. It is only $49.95 at the moment and only left in my size on the site, so I am really tempted to get it now. Something about it I am just in love with. The one of the right is from American Eagle (talk about a blast from the past). It is also $49 and in navy, which is one of my new color obsessions. I love the way navy looks with lighter washed denim, and even khaki dress pants for work.

So that is the make up of my wishlist right now. Nothing too crazy and nothing majorly expensive. I will be sure and update y’all if any of these purchases are made.

Which clothing items do you have your eye on at the moment?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 8:37 am

    Black flats, cardigans and blazers – you’ve nailed my wardrobe down right here! I am also looking out for a new white purse (with brown handles/adornments) and some semi-casual work pants to go with the black flats. My work environment is changing so I’ve gotta switch from pencil skirts to pants. Any thoughts on fashionable and thrifty slacks?

    • Katy permalink*
      August 18, 2010 5:26 pm

      I’ve found that both Express and GAP have reasonably price work attire. I don’t mind spending 50 or 60 bucks on a pair of work pants that I will wear often, and both those places are of the quality where it will last awhile. Express sometimes has some unique prints and patterns rather that just straight blocks of color.

  2. August 18, 2010 5:37 pm

    I’m anxiously awaiting boot season. It sounds awful, but I can’t wait to splurge on a good pair of boots, fashionable, but with rubber soles, that will help me navigate winter in the city. I also would like to add a few more longer blazers in different colors (cream feels really modern right now), as well as more flats, since I ditched most of mine in the move.

    And of course, I still haven’t purchased the basic black or nude pumps I wrote about last week.

  3. Kelly permalink
    August 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    I actually have that J. Crew cardigan in a different color, but my sister got it for me as a gift when it was way on sale. I think it was closer to about $32… maybe you can wait til the color you want is discounted? It’s super nice!

Trackbacks

  1. Eager anticipation « Thrifty Threads
  2. Like my style « Thrifty Threads
  3. Mission accomplished…and then some « Thrifty Threads
  4. Back in black « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

