Skip to content

Like my style

August 24, 2010

First off, I blame Melanie. I blame Melanie for this whole thing. After reading her post about her trip to Goodwill, I was inspired to do the same (partial blame also falls on JoAnn too, for some reason). All I can say is that I hit the jackpot.

IMAG0048

For about 36 bucks, I got all of these goodies. Now I don’t know if it is this way at all Goodwill stores, but today was customer appreciation day, so I also got 25 perfect off the already low, LOW prices. The count is three blazers, two tops, a scarf and a purse. Blazers were high on my wishlist that I posted last week, so I was beyond thrilled when I found these three gems. The first is a brown tweedy-type fabric with interesting button details that you can’t really see from far away. The middle is a gray and white pinstripe number, which is actually probably a size to big, but it sorta has that “boyfriend” feel so I scooped it up. The last one is by far my favorite. I am in love with the navy blazer (I’m actually wearing it at work as I type this right now).  The fabric almost has the feel of a heavy liner and it fits me P-E-R-F-E-C-T-L-Y. Like no joke. It is almost as if I had it tailored.

Now, on first glance, the teal top on the far right doesn’t really look at all that cute. But I fell in love with it and immediately thought of a way to style it.

IMAG0050

Pardon the Droid photo, but you get the picture. It cinches in at the waist and sorta billows and flows up top. Paired with the jeggings I recently got from F21 (15 bucks, can’t beat it) and gold flats, this is a cute outfit for a dinner out, etc.

This clothing haul wasn’t the main part of this post when I first imagined it, but it’s very fitting. I was going to write today about the idea of establishing a style and then shopping to fit that style. I’ve never really had a certain genre or look that I fit myself in to. I’m not super trendy, I’m not a hipster, I’m not vintage, I’m not edgy. But by growing in both age and fashion, I have realized that by figuring out just how I want to look, I can be a smarter shopper and get pieces that suit that idea I have in my head. By shopping just to fit that style and not being a slave to trends, you will help create a wardrobe that is specifically you and will last a lot longer.

So what is specifically Katy? Well, I love a good blazer, if you can’t tell. I also love flowy tops. I like things that are cinched in at the waist. I love skinny jeans and cardigans. I like classic pieces, but with some sort of twist. I wear heels to work, but prefer flats in my day-to-day life. There is not one word to describe this style, and I’m fine with that. I have a clear picture in my head of what I want, so now, that’s what I am going for.

I took a trip to the mall prior my Goodwill adventure today in search of some new pieces to add to my Katy wardrobe. I have piles of purged clothing in my room right now to either give to Goodwill or try to sell at Plato’s Closet, so I figured adding a few new things wouldn’t kill me. It’s not surprising that I ended up at Forever 21, but I didn’t go nuts. I bought two pairs of the aforementioned jeggings (one dark wash, one not-so-dark wash). And I also got this top.

IMAG0049

For some reason, this top to me epitomizes the direction in which I want to go. I tried it on with the dark wash jeggings and immediately had to have it. It will look great with heels or flats. I actually plan on wearing this out to my anniversary dinner with the boyfriend in a few weeks.

Phew, that was sort of a marathon, but I had a lot I wanted to say. I know this isn’t anything new. Duh, but I found it to be some sort of interesting.

How would you describe your style?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 4:39 pm

    Love this post, Katy! I was seriously going to go thrifting as soon as I had a free moment! I need to do some fall shopping without spending too much money and I’m kind of obsessed with belting shapeless tops and sweaters into fitted looks. Also, have you seen: http://newdressaday.wordpress.com/ ?? Amazing!

  2. Melanie permalink*
    August 24, 2010 6:22 pm

    🙂 Sorry for being a bad influence! But at least you found some great things!

    I feel like my style has changed a lot over time. I used to not really pay attention to what I wore, and was more of a jeans/T-shirt kind of girl. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve dressing more “for the occasion.”

    I wouldn’t say my style is easy to define. Sometimes I go more casual or sophisticated or even hipster depending on what I’m doing and where I’m going. I think it’s kind of more fun that way cause it gets to be almost like dress up but with a “me” take on each style.

  3. August 27, 2010 5:19 pm

    I can’t feel too terrible for being a bad influence, because you got some amazing deals! I really like your blazer finds and you’re inspiring me to wear mine more often (I have about three, but never wear them). I like how you styled the teal top, and I think that grey one has a lot of interesting possibilities because it’s a neutral with a cool design.

    How would I describe my style? Idk, maybe ‘whimsical romantic’ — I love florals, reds, purples, and I like incorporating costume accessories and some vintage. What will be really interesting is how my style evolves over the next few years — if it will stay the same despite life changes, like work and moving.

Trackbacks

  1. Mission accomplished…and then some « Thrifty Threads
  2. Some reflection « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

