Skip to content

Oy vey

August 31, 2010

So I was perusing some magazine last week, perhaps Glamour or Cosmo or something, and they had one of those features on a star showing an outfit that they were ashamed to be seen in public wearing. So I thought, hmmm, what about me? Sure, there have been times when I wore an outfit out then looked at pictures on Facebook and thought “Eh, maybe not so much.” But most of my fashion regrets come purchases I thought were right at the time, then over time (or quite quickly) realized that they weren’t from me. Then I go “What was I thinking?” So I decided to share one of my (many) what was I thinking moments.

Now, there aren’t pictures of me in this item (or at least I think/hope) so I just had to take a quick picture to share.

IMAG0051

Yes, I’m talking about my purple pants. I searched high and low for these bad boys a few years back, getting them as a buy-one-get one deal with a pair of plain skinny jeans from PacSun. Then I wore them once. Once. One single time. And it was the weekend before Barack Obama was inaugurated…so that was January 2009. They have since sat in my drawer under all of my jeans just waiting to be used. The other pair of skinny jeans I bought, however, are now one of my favorite pairs of pants.

I really should have thought this one out a little better. I didn’t necessarily hate how they looked on me, but I just don’t have many chances to wear purple pants. They also weren’t very “me.” It was just another example about how a trend might be alluring, but it is best to steer clear sometimes. Now they are happily residing at Plato’s Closet, and I think I got 3 bucks for them.

So what are some of your “what was I thinking” moments?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 4:21 pm

    Most of my “oy vey” moments come from wearing things that didn’t work for my shape – such as shirts that hit me at the wrong part of my torso. This is a biggie from high school.

    And for the record, I loved my purple pants! They even made the cut and came with me to New York (I think…). I haven’t worn them in awhile, but I bought them two summers ago at the Forever 21 in Union Square (why do I remember these details?!) for about $14. I got some weird looks when I wore them in Athens, but I never really cared. I’d like to think I rocked those purple pants. And here’s the key – I always paired them with something simple, like a basic white T-shirt.

    • Katy permalink*
      August 31, 2010 4:30 pm

      I think I was lemming for them around the time when you had gotten yours as well. I really did like them, but I just don’t think I’m a purple pants person. At least not a purple pants in D.C. person. If I lived in NYC perhaps I would have worn them more.

      • August 31, 2010 9:45 pm

        Haha I rocked them in Athens like the crazy person I am. I think the hipsters were offended because they thought I was pretending to be one of them.

  2. Emilia permalink
    August 31, 2010 4:24 pm

    I have a pair of hot pink skinny cords I bought at the Gap in January, marked down from $60 to $12. I’ve worn them maybe twice since then…

    It’s my favorite color, but sometimes I forget it doesn’t work for everything, no matter how hard I try:

    http://caffeinatedrunner.blogspot.com/2010/01/my-signature-color.html

    I’m still going to wear SOMETHING hot pink on marathon day, though…even if it is just my underwear!

  3. September 1, 2010 1:01 am

    My mistake was wearing denim on denim sophomore year of high school, and not in the trendy way that it’s popular now. I wore dark flair jeans with a baggy lightweight jean jacket. To be honest, I was self-conscious about the top I was wearing because it showed a bit of cleavage, and the jacket was the only decent cover up. I still cringe when I run across the photos.

    Shannon, I remember your purple pants and I still think they’re badass — I think you wore them on one of our brunch dates in NYC. I hope you get a chance to wear them soon! BTW, I get what you mean about getting stares in Athens for being sartorially experimental. I’m that girl now… I forgot how casual this town can be.

Leave a Reply

