Skip to content

Multi-purpose: The forgotten jumper

September 2, 2010

Because we’re always talking about “shopping your stash,” and I was inspired by Katy‘s recent stash shopping series, I’ve decided to tackle this issue myself.

Also drawing from Shannon‘s “Shop Block,” I’m not allowing myself to shop for clothes, accessories or shoes for now. I don’t have a deadline, or strict rules for that matter, but I just don’t need anything, nor do I need to be spending money.

Therefore, I’m shopping my closet and making use of items that have gotten little or no use (for whatever reason) and finding ways to make them work.

This week I took a jumper-type piece from Forever 21 I’d worn maybe once, and used it to create different styles. I had such a difficult time before — I felt limited by the deep V-neck. I originally thought I’d wear it as a basic summer dress, and when that didn’t work, it was left forgotten in my closet.

Finally one Friday night, I pulled it back out and threw this outfit together for dinner with the boyfriend at brewpub.

Striped shirt: Thrifted here
Boots: Thrifted here (we’re ignoring that they’re brown for now)
Bracelets: White-thrifted here; black-inherited
Purse: Nine West-thrifted
Sunglasses: Old Navy

So naturally, I also had to find a way to style it for the workplace.

White top: Thakoon for Target (via Shannon)
Belt: Kohl’s
Shoes: Payless
Bracelet: gift

Then I started thinking about cooler weather — though it was in the 90s as I took these photos. Enter tights (inside obviously):

Black top: thrifted
White cami: Target
Tights: Target
Boots: Payless
Necklace: Old Navy

And I felt the need to try it with a black cardigan, so I tried a colorful top underneath.

Pink top: Target
Black cardigan: H&M
Tights: Target
Boots: Payless
Earrings: Walmart

For some reason, I felt the need to try a different work-style look. I’m a little torn on this one. In fact, a male friend told me I looked like a Girl Scout. Maybe.

Salmon button-up: Old Navy
Shoes: Payless
Earrings: Target
Jozy the cat: Animal shelter
(What can I say, cats like to jump into my photos.)

When experimenting like this, you run the risk of some combinations not working as well as others. In my opinion it’s worth the risk and is a great way to step outside your comfort zone.

What do you think about these combinations?

And please let me know: Did you enjoy this type of post? If it goes over well, I’ll continue this for a few weeks — even more inspiration to shop my closet and avoid the stores.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 10:46 am

    Yeah, I kind of agree with the male friend (I’m assuming PK) – I don’t think I’m totally feeling the last look. But I love all the other ones – especially the first one! I love the boots. You’ve really found a lot of awesome stuff thrifting lately!

  2. Katy permalink*
    September 2, 2010 3:40 pm

    I like the second look mucho. I love the white, blue, black combo. Very appropriate for work. I love those Payless boots, now I need to go buy shoes. Melanie, the bad influence…or Katy, the lack of self control.

Leave a Reply

