Skip to content

It’s Saturday in … New York

September 7, 2010

Well, my first gameday in New York has come and gone — rather successfully, I might add. Jenny and I partook in the UGA festivities at a sports bar in the East Village and had a fantastic time watching the game with the other alums in the city. (Although there was an incident involving people standing in front of the TV for a few minutes during the game, but we took care of that situation.)

Before Saturday, I was curious to see what my fellow New York Dawgs would wear. Obviously, gameday in Athens has its own special dress code — my Yankee parents still don’t understand it. Jenny and I were planning on sporting our red and black dresses, of course, but I wasn’t sure how casual and/or festive the crowd would be.

As it turns out, the attire ran the gamut. Some people clearly thought they were still in Athens, others wore all black and accessorized with red. We spent halftime wandering around the bar and snapping photos with my new iPhone (I love the camera!) to share with you all.

The menu was too great to not get a shot of. (But maybe someone should tell the bar “Herschel” is misspelled?)

Baron, you’re awesome, but why on earth were you not sporting your red and black?

Although Erin isn’t a UGA alumna, she came to show her support with her friends. Jenny and I loved the scalloped waistline on her skirt, and the tank made it a bit more casual. (The weather on Saturday could not have been more perfect!)

Mandy and Mandy reminded me that no matter how many black dresses I have (err … eight? nine?), I still need some red earrings and accessories to go with them.

We loved Renee’s red belt. I liked this outfit because it definitely fit the sports bar’s atmosphere, but could easily be worn to other post-game activities.

Upon asking if we could photograph them for a blog, these gentlemen (John and Sean) asked us if we even went to UGA. (No, we just decided to dress in all red and black and hang out at a bar at 11 a.m. on a Saturday.) Regardless, we appreciated their classic look.

This is probably the worst iPhone photo of the bunch – sorry, Sara! We loved her UGA cap. I need one in my life now.

We loved Tamara’s chill New-York-in-the-summer look, especially with that red belt. (And I cut off her fabulous shoes. Maybe I should take photos before the game instead of during halftime.)

It wasn’t just a 20-or-30-something crowd, either. Shelly and Rick showed their Bulldog pride, and we loved the classic shirt that definitely wouldn’t have been out of place on Broad Street.

I’m admittedly not a big fan of the popped collar, but if you’re going to do it, commit. Go all the way. You may not be able to tell from my stealth iPhone photo, but his poor collar was crooked and sorta-kinda popped … it just couldn’t make up its mind.

Somehow, Jenny and I never got a full-length photo of ourselves. (I still wanted to include this snap, though.) I loved the dress I wore (pictured here), but I certainly felt a little awkwardly dressed up on the subway at 8:30 a.m.

It should without saying that I’m extremely excited for UGA’s first SEC game this weekend. Today, I’m on the hunt for a red belt and red jewelry to wear with all of my black dresses for the remainder of the season. Go Dawgs!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    September 7, 2010 4:00 pm

    I contemplated taking a picture in my gameday attire as well and sharing it. All I did was go to a fantasy football draft and hang out with the BF, but still. No one ever gets the whole SEC/South way of dressing for football games. I am already on the search for a new red dress to wear to the game I’m going to in October and my friends think I am nuts. That bar looks fun! I love Baron! Haha.

    • September 7, 2010 4:14 pm

      The bar was tons of fun. It was nice being around other SEC fans for the game, and we’re planning on returning for every game (the bar gets the UGA package or whatever, and our game was on every TV).

      Good luck finding a new red dress! I realized last week I literally got rid of all my red clothing (why, I have no idea) and jewelry. I have two red dresses now (both purchased here, both have polka-dots), so I definitely need red jewelry to spice up my black dresses.

      And yes! I just met Baron in New York a few weeks ago. Obviously we have a lot of friends in common. 🙂

  2. Emilia permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:12 pm

    Love yours and Jenny’s outfits! And that they made a menu for you.
    I have lots of red and black…can I be an honorary dawg??

    • September 7, 2010 6:32 pm

      Of course! You should definitely join us for the games when you’re free! The schedule can be found here: http://bit.ly/9k1M6a. I’m 99 percent certain the Village Pourhouse (on 3rd Ave. and 11th St.) is hosting us for every game.

      • Emilia permalink
        September 7, 2010 6:59 pm

        Yay! I was contemplating meeting up with you guys on Saturday between dog-sitting in the West Village…then I saw some tweets and thought I just might be out of place in my strapless floral dress haha. I’ll come (prepared) soon!

  3. September 7, 2010 8:56 pm

    Love this. I think you guys might be better fans than me — I dressed up but failed to take a single photo during game day of anything, even when a legit bulldog from Uga VI’s line came near my tailgate. Life and blog fail.

    Good to see some familiar faces 🙂 Grady College, represent!

    • September 8, 2010 12:18 pm

      Aw, bummer! I know you’re not the biggest football fan, but as long as you have fun, that’s what matters. Hope you’re loving living in Athens again!

  4. Shannon's Mom permalink
    September 9, 2010 8:44 pm

    I will never understand wearing a dress to a football game!! Jeans and a team shirt/hat work just fine for me. I guess for Southerners a football game would be considered a “formal” occasion – only kidding!!

    • September 9, 2010 8:46 pm

      When it’s 95 degrees with 100 percent humidity, I defy you to wear anything more than a sundress. It’s hot in the South in September!! (And October. And November, sometimes.)

    • September 9, 2010 9:30 pm

      Also, you can comment w/ your name. We all know who you are. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I’ve been a very bad blogger. « Thrifty Threads
  2. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

