Skip to content

Brooches. Breeches.

September 9, 2010

Over the past year or two, I’ve been seeing many more brooches around. Not gonna lie, when I first saw them I thought “little old lady.”

But they’ve grown on me.

In fact, I’ve learn about all sorts of uses they have:

  • Dress up an otherwise boring outfit
  • Add interest by having something unique
  • Attached to a purse or bag
  • Hooked onto a necklace as a pendant
  • Used to hook together a long necklace looped over 2-3 times so it doesn’t choke you
  • Hold a scarf in place

Seeing how useful  they seem – how do I not have any? I’ve kept an eye out at Goodwill the past few times I’ve been, but nothing. I must have a few for fall!

Where is the best place to find cute, interesting and cheap brooches?

Side Note: I fully intended to do another multi-use outfit post, but this week has been extra busy! Short week…psh. Anyway, hopefully for next week!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:36 pm

    Yes to all of this. I especially love the owl! I would name him Noctu. I guess I am obsessed with animal brooches. It took me awhile to get over the fact that I may be that little old lady who wears Santa cat pins that light up and play “Jingle Bells”…

    The best places I’ve found for brooches have always been thrift stores — some of them are older and just really interesting looking. Don’t give up, and good luck in your search.

    • Melanie permalink*
      September 9, 2010 9:52 pm

      Haha! That’s cute. I like animals too 🙂

  2. September 9, 2010 9:36 pm

    I love brooches. When I was in Florida last month both of my grandmothers gave me their brooch collections, so I have a collection of about 50. A few were my great-great-grandmother’s! I have also found some brooches at flea markets. They are occasionally dirty, but I have found that soapy water a little kid’s toothbrush are great to clean with 🙂

    Also, while I haven’t tried it yet, I read on another blog (can’t remember which) that brooches are great at cinching blazers!

    • Melanie permalink*
      September 9, 2010 9:53 pm

      How great for you! Flea markets – that’s a good idea I hadn’t thought of.

      I guess they would be good at cinching blazers too … something else on my fall list!

  3. Katy permalink*
    September 10, 2010 2:01 pm

    I don’t have any brooches, but I got a few flower pins from F21 with the idea of putting them on headbands (which I never wear). I pinned one to a cardigan awhile back and it really added something. I think F21 might have some brooches/pins available on their site, but they wouldn’t be the best quality (but they would be dirt cheap). I keep scouring thrift stores for jewelry and can’t find anything. I wish I had better options.

Trackbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite things… « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

