Skip to content

What’s mine is yours

September 10, 2010

57277815
I’ve lived with female roommates since college, but just recently got in to the habit of sharing clothes and accessories with the people I live with. I don’t really mind sharing, it’s almost like doubling your wardrobe options (in a very thrifty manner). I take it as a compliment that someone else likes the clothes I have in my closet (because heck, I love them too). But does your lending policy come with stipulations?

Some people might get skeeved out at the thought of someone picking around in your room or closet when you are or aren’t there, trying things on and such, so if you do plan on swapping clothes with a roommate or friend, make sure you set some ground rules.

So here are mine (in all their crazy glory):

1) If I buy something brand new, let me be the first one to wear it. I think it is a no brainer that if I go and shell the cash on a new sweater, necklace or top, I want to be the one who wears it on it’s maiden voyage. Even if it has been months since it’s been purchased, there is still something about breaking out a new item that brings a smile to my face. That being said, I’d have a dress from H & M in my closet for two years now that I haven’t worn, and if someone wanted to borrow it, I might bend this rule slightly.

2) Unless I specifically ask, don’t wash the clothes you have borrowed. This might just be a me thing, but I like to be in control of my own laundry. A lot of my stuff isn’t the best quality, but I still like to make sure it doesn’t shrink or fade, or if it does, that it’s my doing.

3) If you borrow something of mine, don’t keep it for weeks. If you wear a shirt on Monday, I think it’s reasonable for it to be back by Wednesday, right? I’m not sitting here on shirt patrol…or am I?

4) If you break it, you bought it. This sounds mean, but if you borrow my khaki skirt and spill red wine on it and it can’t come out, well, I’m going to need to buy a new khaki skirt. It’s one of the hazards of both loaning and borrowing clothes. I personally think that it’s an assumed responsibility that the borrower should understand.

5) Last but not least, if you want to borrow something, just ask first. There have been times when I’ve gotten ready to go to work or out to dinner and gone to reach for a top or a necklace and noticed it was missing. Chances are I’m going to say yes if you ask, but I’m slightly OCD and sometimes plan outfits out in my head in advanced, so if something is missing, I am peeved. And if you take something without asking, it bothers me slightly. I think it’s just common courtesy.

So that’s my little rant/advice right there. The bottom line is that it’s your clothes, your jewelry and your shoes. Some people don’t like lending clothes, some do. It’s all a matter of preference, so do what’s most comfortable with you.

Do you let people borrow your clothes or is that weird to you? Are you a crazy rule master like me or are you more lax?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 3:16 pm

    I totally agree with everything you said. I’ve shared clothes occasionally with my female roommates in college (and my roommate in Atlanta once or twice), and you have to set some ground rules. I think asking is the key – even if it’s a text message. I know I have a lot of clothes, but I generally remember everything in my closet down the scarves, so I’m going to know if something is missing.

    • Katy permalink*
      September 10, 2010 3:19 pm

      I’m like the master of my own domain. It’s weird, but I can tell if something is missing or put back in the wrong place. Maybe it’s a sign I have a problem.

  2. September 10, 2010 9:44 pm

    TOTALLY agree. I think I am possibly even more OCD about loaning clothes than you are… just barely 😉

Leave a Reply

