Skip to content

Currently obsessed with: Gossip Girl

September 13, 2010

As I type this, I’m watching the season premiere of “Gossip Girl” on the CW. I like this show for many reasons (snarky dialogue, great exterior scenes of New York City), but of course, the clothes are fabulous.

If you’re not familiar with the show, it’s about a group of totally spoiled, over-privileged 20-somethings and teens. Honestly, the fashion probably is the best part of the show, but it’s really really good. Over the past few years, “Gossip Girl” has inspired a few trends and its fashions have hit the mainstream.

I don’t know about you, but I definitely started wearing headbands more in the past few years. I feel like the crazy headwear trend really picked up steam once Blair Waldorf started donning them on the steps of the Met.

I also feel like the show revived a bit of that preppy-collegiate look – blazers, tights and skirts. A lot of these things hit the runways last September, and colored tights definitely became more popular after the well-dressed high schoolers sported them on the show.

I think it’s interesting how pop culture can inspire the adoption of trends among people of all ages, regardless of income or location. Think “Sex and the City” back in the day – the flower pins, the stiletto, the cosmopolitans. Rather than waiting for trends to hit the runways and then trickle down the chain of retail locations and designers, consumers can be inspired from intrepid costume designers who have a keen eye for what the public could be wearing.

What do you think? How has pop culture influenced your own style? Has it?

For more info about the trends of “Gossip Girl,” check out this old NYT article.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    September 13, 2010 10:43 pm

    I feel like I also starting purchasing headbands because of Blair on GG. However, I have found I have an odd shaped head and they do not look good on me. Oh well. I actually stopped watching GG in the middle of last season due to the fact I grew tired of their repeated story lines and all. As much as I like the clothes they wear on GG, it’s almost like SATC in the way that it’s stuff I would never wear in real life. I do love Serena’s hair though.

    • September 14, 2010 1:01 pm

      Some headbands actually give me a headache – apparently my head is too big? And yes, the crazy drama and storylines on GG can definitely be out of control, but the fashion really is out of this world. I also find that they mix a lot of high end/low end designer things, which I appreciate.

Leave a Reply

