Skip to content

Mission accomplished…and then some

September 14, 2010

A little more than a month ago, I posted about how I was making a wishlist of some of the items I wanted to procure for my fall wardrobe (and beyond). I am proud to report that I have successfully checked all the items of my list, and then some extras for good measure. I’m going to warn you ahead of time: This is going to be a photo-heavy post. But it’s pictures of clothes, which are fun. I don’t know about you, but I like to live vicariously through other people and what they buy. However as you will see, it isn’t as satisfying as I would like to think.

First on my list was a new pair of black flats. The need for a new pair became painfully apparent on Friday after I got home from work and saw a huge gaping hold in the heel of my Target ones. So yesterday, I hit up DSW and emerged victorious.

CIMG3047

These are actually one of the pairs I feature back in that post in August. They are by Chinese Laundry and they only set me back $40. I am interested to see the lasting power of these compared to the $25 Target ones I had been wearing. There are also sparkly, and super cute.

Next on the list was new cardigans, specifically, a new white or cream one because the one I owned was looking rather sad. Can I just say how hard it is to find a white cardigan? I wanted to get one that was a little higher in price that Target and see if it would be able to survive the multiple wears and washings. In the end after a few different malls and no success, I did break down and get the Target one. However, I didn’t just stop there.

CIMG3046

This is my bounty. Now, in my defense, the only one I got that wasn’t on sale was the white Target one. The orange and rose ones are from New York and Company and were buy one get one half off. The blue (which is my new color obsession) and taupe ones were on sale at GAP for $26. They are all crazy soft too.

Last on the list was blazers. As those who read regularly know, I satisfied most of my blazer search on one trip to Goodwill. However, I have a shopping problem, so I wasn’t quite satisfied.

CIMG3045

The top has already been featured in my back-to-school post. That and the white blazer I got on my first trip to the Salvation Army near me. Together this was $6. SIX DOLLARS! I will never get over how great thrifting can be. I actually kind of bought them to wear together, and with skinny jeans they look fab.

So I should’ve been done with all my shopping then. Nope. I cannot be stopped.

CIMG3052

I went to another thrift store near me and got these.

CIMG3053

Then I went to Target. In my defense, these were all on clearance and I had wanted them all for awhile. I never buy anything at Target full price any more it seems. A few weeks later, it will always been on the sale racks.

2793DFD7-F0E9-3491-E3D7-6B11534F9E1Cwallpaper

Last in the clothing section of this post are these two dresses. The one of the left is from Plato’s Closet. The closest one is about 45 minutes from my apartment, but I drove out because I had two huge bags of things to try and sell. I only got about $40 (which was good enough for me, really) and I put about $14 of it towards this dress and a few jewelry pieces which I will show later. I figured it would be really cool with tights and boots in the fall. The one of the right is from Forever 21. I am like obsessed with this color blue and wanted a dress this color, so when I saw it and that it was $10, I had to get it. It’s a tad short, but I figure with leggings or tights, it’ll work for fall and winter.

I swear it’s almost over. Just a few jewelry pieces, and I’m done. I promise.

CIMG3051

I have been on the search for some big or long necklaces for awhile. I was scouring Etsy and ModCloth trying to find some statement pieces. Of course, I broke down and went to F21 and got the two on the left. I really like the second one, it’s like a pearl, black and bronze bib-ish necklace. The middle one (and one not pictured because it is actually on loan to my roomie right now) are from Plato’s. The silver locket is from Old Navy and the key is from World Market (which is my new favorite place for jewelry and scarves, and for home furnishings, whenever I have to do that. Melanie actually talked about some of their jewelry and such awhile back).

CIMG3050

From left, the white bangles are from Plato’s and the two cuffs are from H&M. I was at the mall getting a haircut and popped in to H&M to browse and saw these, didn’t get them, then proceeded to think about them all through my haircut, and went back and got them.

This is my last purchase, but it might be one of my favorites out of everything I’ve bought over the past month. It is also from World Market and I was pretty excited to find it. I have been wanting a Chan Luu wrap bracelet for awhile. I’d seen them on some blogs and thought they looked really cute. However, they retail for about $200, so I was hoping for one for Christmas

CIMG3048

I found this at World Market for $10 and it is essentially the exact Chan Luu I had been wanting. I have not taken it off since I left the store. I like it because I can wear it to work and it won’t interfere with all the typing and clicking I do throughout the day, which is generally what keeps me from wearing chunky bracelets to work. I am pretty sure I am going to get back and get at least one more. I signed up for their little rewards thing and get 10 percent off my next purchase, and there is a black and gray wrap bracelet calling my name.

Phew, that was a marathon. I congratulate you and thank you for making it all the way through. I am beyond happy with all of my purchases in the past month, and got a lot of great deals (hence why I am sharing). While I do not NEED anything else, I figure I might make a few stops to the thrift stores around me once every few weeks just to see if there are any news finds (and might stop off at some places in ATL when I visit in October). But other than that, shop block and shopping the stash for Katy.

Have you got anything new lately? Anything you need or want that you are searching for?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 4:32 pm

    Holler. Your purchases are amazing and I’m so impressed with the prices. Stop taunting me. ha.

    Also … come visit meeee and we’ll go to Beacon’s Closet in BK. This is a must.

    • Katy permalink*
      September 14, 2010 4:36 pm

      Done. Heck, I could totally take the bus up one weekend just go to Beacon’s Closet. Haha.

      • September 15, 2010 10:44 am

        Yes you totally should. I need some DeLuca in my life … especially since we’re not going to be in ATL the same weekend in October. Lame.

  2. Melanie permalink*
    September 14, 2010 6:42 pm

    You’re making me want to shop, and I CANNOT shop. Stop it!

    But really, awesome job! I’m so jealous of all your purchases.

    I could use a few more cardigans. Still want a few blazers (I’ll be going to Goodwill). And I’m always looking for more low-cost jewelry. 🙂

  3. Suzie permalink
    September 14, 2010 7:29 pm

    Shannon…your love of clothes, bargains and shopping are an inherited trait. We can thank your Grandmother. She was the Queen of retail, as you well know. You would make her proud.

    • September 14, 2010 7:45 pm

      Oh, I know! I’ll never forget her giving us gifts still in their retail bags – my hatred of wrapping presents is also inherited! Glad you like the blog!

  4. Emilia permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:02 pm

    Did any of you guys take advantage of the $25-for-$50 Gap Groupons last month? I got two and I’m looking forward to getting some fall work-friendly staples…namely some new sweaters.

    I know I’m going to finally need to get some rainboots soon…any recommendations? I’ve had bad luck with Target and Old Navy in the past.

    • Katy permalink*
      September 14, 2010 11:10 pm

      I contemplated the Groupon, then as soon as I decided I wanted it, it was after midnight and I couldn’t get it anymore. I really want to try some of their jeans, but dang, I missed my chance. They had some great sweaters on sale when I went in last week, in addition to the cardigans, so I’d look there. As for rain boots, I bought some black polka dot ones from Target last year before SnOMG and they served me well.

    • September 17, 2010 1:53 pm

      I REALLY wish I had done this … especially since I’m obsessed with my new black skinny pants from Gap that set me back $50. What was I thinking not taking advantage of that Groupon?! Thrifty Threads FAIL.

      I’ve never had a huge issue with Target rainboots. I need to get mine from my parents’ house in October. Hopefully they’ll work in the city.

  5. Shannon's Mom permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:22 pm

    Awesome job shopping Katy!! You need to come visit and go through my closet and then WE can go shopping. One of the t-shirts you bought at Target on clearance is one I had been looking at and it is now gone!! You girls are awesome!!

    • Katy permalink*
      September 14, 2010 11:11 pm

      Done. I’ll Facebook you when I come back to ATL in October and we can set up a shopping trip haha.

  6. September 15, 2010 3:39 pm

    I love reading these massive shopping posts, because it feels like I’m the one vicariously shopping, haha. Love your finds, especially that light blue rose print top because it looks almost exactly like this one Rebecca Taylor dress from last year — so pretty.

    Please give updates about your flats — I’m prone to getting the ones at Target, and they fall apart, and I always need good recs for flats.

    And if you’re ever in Athens anytime soon, we should go thrift/vintage shopping!

    • Katy permalink*
      September 15, 2010 4:10 pm

      I’m coming to Athens in October! I’m coming under the pretense of going to the homecoming football game (or more so the tailgates) but I feel it’d be more enjoyable to go shopping. Haha.

    • September 17, 2010 1:55 pm

      Just saw your comment about flats, JoAnn – this is totally embarrassing but I just got a pair of black flats at Aerosoles. (In my defense, they really are making an effort to have cuter shoes and better branding, etc…) I’m still breaking them in but I can see myself living in them this fall.

      Not gonna lie, I totally snapped a pic in the store and e-mailed Melanie and Jenny (and Phillip) for advice. Everyone approved.

      • September 17, 2010 4:45 pm

        Ooh, hooray for cute shoes! I know what you mean about shopping at Aerosoles, but they seriously were the only place for awhile that had cute heels narrow enough to fit my feet.

Trackbacks

  1. An accessory to inspiration « Thrifty Threads
  2. It’s that time of year « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

