Skip to content

Multi-purpose: Part 2

September 16, 2010

In a continued effort to keep myself from shopping, I’ve made it my mission to maximize the items in my closet.

(Though I will confess, I gave in and bought two $10 cardigans thanks to Target’s Daily Deal yesterday.)

This week I took a basic jeans (Express)/T-shirt (Banana Republic) outfit and attempted to create three different looks just by changing accessories.

Boots: Target
Scarf: Plato’s Closet
Leaf earrings: Etsy

Someone left a rug sitting on top of the parking deck, so I thought, why not? Magic carpet! Judge if you like.

This first look is quintessential fall. I’m looking forward to the day I can actually wear boots for the first time this year. Still a bit too warm in Atlanta.

Shell necklace: Don’t remember
Yellow flower ring (as restraint): Target
Bracelet: Plato’s Closet
Sandals: Old Navy

This combo is much more casual and definitely more weather-appropriate for the time being. It’s probably my least favorite of the three looking at them now, but it’s comfortable. And to make it a little more interesting I took a necklace, wrapped it around my neck (not over) and restrained it with a flower ring.

Black cardigan: H&M
Earrings: Target
Necklace: Target
Black flats: Target

To be honest, I was really surprised how much I liked this outfit. Very simple, comfortable additions – but they go a long way toward a more dressed up look.

Which is your favorite? Have you been able to break out the boots for daily wear yet?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    September 16, 2010 10:32 am

    I think I would rank them as three as my fave, one next, and then two, even though I do like what you did with the necklace/ring combo, I will have to try that out. I think the third look would be really cute for evening with a pair of black heels too. Or even swap out for some dark wash jeans. No boots for me yet, unless you count the cowboy-ish ones I have worn a few times in the past few weeks (to work, no less). I see them sitting in my closet, taunting me. It was so chilly out last Friday night here in D.C. I almost slipped on my fake Uggs to go out and grab dessert with Eric. But I restrained myself. Boot soon, I hope.

  2. September 17, 2010 12:46 pm

    I love outfit #1, followed by #3, then #2. I’m so ready for boot season, and can’t wait to get mine out of my parents’ basement when I go to ATL in October. (I’m sure my mom is ready for that too.) I also LOVE what you did with the ring and necklace in #2.

    Honestly, it’s just about boot season here – not EVERY day is boot weather, but we’re getting there. Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

