Skip to content

Cowgirl up.

September 20, 2010

I give in.

For months, I’ve resisted. Sure, floral dresses with cowboy boots look cute. But I’ve never in my life lusted over cowboy boots — never thought they were “my style” (whatever that actually is).

But now that the weather’s finally cooling down here in NYC, all I can think about is boots. Riding boots, motorcycle boots, expensive boots, cheap boots cowboy boots … they’re all comfortable, stylish and perfect for the upcoming fall and winter weather.

My perfect pair of cowboy boots is dark brown, leather, gently worn, with a slight heel. They hit at mid-calf and are perfectly comfortable for walking all over the city.

Take, for example, this pair of Frye boots from Zappos. They’re seriously out of my price range ($268), but they’ll be serving as some shopping inspiration in the coming weeks. I’m heading to Chicago for a long weekend, and I plan to explore a few thrift stores and report back next week. Cross your fingers for some good finds!

Have you ever surprised yourself by embracing a particular trend?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    September 20, 2010 8:35 pm

    I guess leggings was a trend that I was against initially and have now embraced fully. Maxi dresses as well (I figured I was too short). If I am going to embrace a trend at all, I usually do so towards the ends of it’s popularity and then continue to wear it even after it isn’t in style anymore.

    • September 21, 2010 7:52 pm

      It took me awhile to start wearing leggings, too, and I hate to admit that I totally wore those capri-style ones back in 2007. Ugh. Now, it’s basically my personal mission to get people to stop wearing leggings as pants. 😀

  2. Emilia permalink
    September 20, 2010 11:42 pm

    Looooove cowboy boots! I just got a pair for $35 at Old Navy (http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=55149&vid=1&pid=774523&scid=774523042, the ones I wore to Baron’s party). I have another pair I got from Zappos a few years ago, but they’re pointy-toed and not very comfortable.

    I like to half-joke that I’m going to wear cowboy boots at my wedding. There will also be yellow roses (my fave, and also for TX) and red velvet cake. Gotta stick to the Southern roots.

    • September 21, 2010 7:53 pm

      Love those boots you wore the other night! I see your point about pointy-toed boots, and will definitely keep that in mind when I start the search.

      And yum, red velvet cake! Always delicious, no matter what form it’s in.

  3. September 21, 2010 5:34 pm

    Ooh, love those boots! Good luck with your search in Chicago.

    I didn’t think I would like colored or patterned tights, but so much blog reading persuaded me to give them a try. Now I’m really looking forward to experimenting this fall.

    • September 21, 2010 7:55 pm

      Thanks, JoAnn! Apparently Melanie posted the same pair of boots (in a different color) on her Tumblr last week. Great minds think alike.

      I hear you on colored/patterned tights! I had one particular pair from Target that I loved because the pattern was vertical, and I thought they made my legs look longer. I really need to order some tights from welovecolors.com (I’ve heard awesome things about the quality of their products), since it’s starting to be that time here in New York!

      • Emilia permalink
        September 21, 2010 10:39 pm

        Oooh be careful with We Love Colors…I tried them out last year and did not have the best luck. They took forever to come in the mail and when they finally did, the colors did not match the pictures much at all– one pair of purple ones were so insanely bright that I ended up using them strictly for winter runs:

        Dark red also turned out to be more orange-y…

        Just sayin’. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Mission Accomplished « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

