Skip to content

Just polished enough

September 23, 2010

Now that it’s officially fall, I’m excited to break out some darker shades of nail polish again.

Right now I’m sporting red on my toes (for my Dawgs – even though they aren’t doing so hot), but lately I’ve been trying to keep my fingernails polished as well.

Because of chipping, this requires them to be redone once or twice per week because chipped polish is never OK if you want to look put together. But this gives me the opportunity to try out a bunch of different colors.

This morning @InStyle tweeted about Whitney Port’s gray nail polish, and I quickly became obsessed with gray nails. (Even though I say hers look more olive than gray)

I checked out Target and CVS and all the “grays” seemed to be silver. Disappointing.

There were several options listed on the article about Whitney’s nails. Although I considered “splurging” for the Essie color listed (at $8), I looked up a few other options:

  • OPI Brand New Skates for $7.50 on Amazon
  • China Glaze Recycle Nail Lacquer for $3.40 on Amazon
  • Essie Nail Polish Fall Collection – Chinchilly for $5.99 on Amazon

    Since all these were on Amazon, I checked for the Essie brand polish from the above-mentioned article. Guess what? It was there for even cheaper! $1.74 for this:

    Now I have a tough decision to make! What do you think? What nail colors are you lusting over this fall?

    13 Comments leave one →
    1. September 23, 2010 6:25 pm

      Rimmel’s steel grey polish is pretty good, imo. A nice grey. I love greys on my nails too!

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 24, 2010 12:02 pm

        Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to check that out. 🙂

    2. Katy permalink*
      September 23, 2010 6:32 pm

      I just bought this taupe grey color I had been wanting for awhile. It’s from Milani and I got it at CVS. 5 bucks. Can’t beat it. I have also moved away from the bright colors on the finger nails and have been focusing on sheerer colors. Tans. This shimmery light gold. I think come fall, I might wear deep colors like OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark which is like a deep purple.

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 24, 2010 12:03 pm

        I love taupe too. I think we’re in the same boat when it comes to colors for the seasons!

    3. September 23, 2010 10:16 pm

      I really like the Essie version — I’m more a fan of the pastel-y greys.

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 24, 2010 12:03 pm

        I do too at times. I’m trying to decide between China Glaze and the lighter Essie…

    4. Lindsay permalink
      September 24, 2010 12:24 pm

      I have Essie’s Chinchilly and I love it! It goes with everything and I wore it all the time last fall. If I can find where I hid it after the move, you’re more than welcome to borrow it!

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 28, 2010 8:06 am

        Thanks again for letting me borrow it. I’m loving my nails right now!

    5. Betsy permalink
      September 24, 2010 10:10 pm

      I love OPI Brights’ Over the Taupe’.
      Great on toes and/or nails.

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 28, 2010 8:06 am

        Ooh, that is nice – I like that too!!

    6. September 27, 2010 7:46 pm

      I’ve been meaning to get some steely grey polish for a while now but I haven’t been able to find the exact shade I’m looking for – until now, that is. I think the China Glaze polish might be perfect, heading over to Amazon right now to buy it!

      • Melanie permalink*
        September 28, 2010 8:08 am

        That’s so great! I hope it works out well for you.

        I borrowed Essie’s Chinchilly from a friend, and the color is actually a lot grayer than it looks in the photo in this post. So hard to tell from a picture!

    Trackbacks

    1. These are a few of my favorite things… « Thrifty Threads

    Leave a Reply

