Skip to content

Mission Accomplished

September 27, 2010

Just one week ago, I wrote about embracing the cowboy boot. So imagine my surprise when I stumbled across the exact pair of Frye boots I had lusted after in a Chicago thrift store.

I just returned from a long weekend in Chicago, where I did a lot of thrifting in the Wicker Park and Lincoln Park neighborhoods. These beauties were found at the Wicker Park Crossroads Trading Company. After trying on and then discarding a few dresses and coats, I had just about given up. Luckily, I was rewarded for my patience with a perfectly worn in pair of Fryes in my size for FORTY DOLLARS.

Yes, you read that correctly.

FOUR. ZERO.

I proceeded to walk all over Chicago in them on both Saturday and Sunday and I’m officially in love. (A few people at Wrigley Field made fun of them but I don’t care.)

Leather coat: Vintage, Beacon’s Closet – Shirtdress: H&M
Black skinnies: Gap – Boots: Frye, Thrifted – Purse: Vintage, Thrifted in Chicago

If you follow me on Twitter, you know I have many more thrifting stories to share and stores to review, but I want to try to break up the Chicago adventures into a few different posts. For now, though, know that I am a very happy camper and will certainly be wearing these boots ad nauseam — especially with the rain we’re getting right now. (And if you think these boots were my best find of the weekend, you would be wrong. Get excited.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    September 27, 2010 3:31 pm

    I love the boots with the black skinny jeans. It makes me want to go buy a pair of black skinny jeans to wear with my cowboy boots. I have been really loving black and brown together lately, which I had an aversion to for the longest time. I CANNOT WAIT to see the rest of your stuff.

    • September 27, 2010 5:09 pm

      Yes, I love this combo as well. Unfortunately, though, the black skinny jeans are kind of a weird material (they’re not denim) and the inside of the boots rubbed the fabric a bit too much and now it’s a little nubby in a few spots. Luckily, it’s on the inseam of the pants so it’s not too terrible.

      I can’t wait to show you all what else I got! I didn’t want to spoil everything on Twitter but a few items were too good not to share right away.

      P.S. Here’s a link for those pants. Only XXL are left, but I’m going to keep checking back for dark blue, etc… http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?pid=772138002&userSearchText=skinny&searchCID=25781&vid=1

  2. September 28, 2010 2:48 pm

    JEALOUS! I have yet to find cowboy boots I’m willing to shell out money for, even after many trips to the Salvation Army. Grrrr. Did you visit Buffalo Exchange while you were in Chicago? I’ve heard many great things about that place.
    *sigh* I freakin’ LOVE Chicago. Tryin’ to convince the hubby to move there after he graduates from grad school here. We visited last summer and I fell. Hard. If you’re a total nerd like me, next time go out to Evanston to Northwestern University. Pretty great stuff. I felt like my IQ spiked just by wandering around campus.

    • September 28, 2010 3:09 pm

      I was seriously shocked when I found these – and I didn’t even realize they were the same ones I randomly posted last week.

      I love Chicago, as well! It’s probably the only other city in the country I could live in right now (although God knows I’ll never leave NYC if I can help it). My cousin goes to Northwestern and she suggested a thrift store called Ragstock, but it was somewhere on Belmont Avenue and I never made it. Definitely check back on Thursday for a few store reviews in Lincoln Park. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Wicker Park, Part Deux « Thrifty Threads
  2. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

