Skip to content

Wicker Park, Part Deux

September 29, 2010

When last we left, I was wandering around Wicker Park exploring the many, many thrift stores in the Chicago neighborhood. After scoring my dream cowboy boots, I took the advice of a friendly saleswoman at Eskell and headed to Vintage Underground.

The staff here could not have been nicer. I met a Savannah College of Art & Design alum, and got a great wide leather red belt and a lovely vintage navy purse. (The latter is pictured here.) I highly recommend this store if you’re ever in Chicago. They also had the best jewelry selection I saw all day.

I headed back to Milwaukee Avenue and stopped into U.S. #1.

The store’s selection of boots and jeans was fantastic, but I wasn’t really in the mood to try on jeans and, after considering and then discarding a pair of sunglasses, I moved on to Store B Vintage.

Finally, a thrift store that organizes its shoes by size! I loved it. However, I still didn’t buy anything — just snapped a few photos.

And I didn’t get a shot of the storefront, but my final stop on Friday was Recycle.

Recycle was having a great sale, but I wasn’t really inspired by much, and at this point I was getting pretty hungry (and thirsty!). I headed back to Erica’s neck of the woods, totally satisfied with my purchases (those boots!) and ready for some deep dish pizza and local Illinois wine. (Yes, I brought a bottle of Cab back to New York. Did you even have to ask?)

Delicious!

Stayed tuned (yet again!) for the scoop on two of Lincoln Park’s vintage stores, as well as my vintage find of the year. (Yes, really.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 10:10 am

    Wow, that looks like an awesome place to thrift! I could shop for days 🙂

    • September 30, 2010 10:34 am

      It really was pretty awesome. I think I made it to 8 stores in Wicker Park that day, but there are tons more thrift and consignment stores!

Leave a Reply

