Skip to content

“But it’s an investment…”

September 30, 2010

(Yes, I’m still talking about my trip to Chicago. This is the last post, I promise.)

Saturday, I took the day off from shopping and saw the Cubs beat the Cardinals (shocking!), wandered around downtown Chicago, checked out Navy Pier and ate delicious Ghirardelli chocolate ice cream.

However, on Sunday, after a delicious brunch at Nookie’s in Lincoln Park, Erica and I checked out two great vintage/thrift shops around the corner. McShane’s Exchange and Second Time Around are literally right next door to each other! So convenient.

McShane’s Exchange was huge. Just when I thought I was at the back of the store, another room full of designer jeans and shoes would appear. There was also an upstairs room full of clearance items. I got a nice blazer for $2. (I was shocked when the saleswoman told me how much it was and would have sworn I had misheard her.)

McShane’s also had a great selection of shoes. Unfortunately, I didn’t care for any of the size 9 1/2s, but for those of you who wear sizes 7 to 8 1/2, it’s definitely worth checking out the Jimmy Choos, Manolo Blahniks and Pradas. So beautiful.

I walked out happy with my $2 blazer, and we headed next door to Second Time Around.

Second Time Around was smaller than McShane’s Exchange, and, as a result, browsing was easier. There were lots of designer items and they were having a pretty spectacular sale. I scored a nice navy plaid fall coat with fun pleating at the bottom for $40.

We proceeded to wander around Lincoln Park some more, slowly making our way south for the John Hancock Center, our final destination. However, we were maybe half a mile away when I literally stopped in my tracks and asked Erica if she wouldn’t mind, please, please, turning around and going back to McShane’s.

See, while browsing the coats in the front of the store, I had come across a Burberry trench coat marked for $250. I immediately dismissed it because, let’s face it, I had shopped enough that weekend. I didn’t even try it on. But the coat was my size. I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Erica agreed to walk back to Lincoln Park so I could try on the coat and convince myself to purchase it. Obviously, I was praying no one had bought it in the hour we had been gone.

This story would be really lame if someone else had bought it, so needless to say, that Burberry trench is now hanging in my closet. It’s lined in that distinct Burberry plaid and beautiful and warmer than it looks and I can’t wait until it’s cold enough in New York to wear it. (It may be fall but it’s not that cold out yet.)

Of course, I wasn’t planning on spending this kind of money last weekend, but sometimes, you just can’t fight thrifting karma. This coat may have been a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I literally will wear it forever. It’ll never go out of style.

Oh yeah, and the saleswoman sold it to me for $200, not $250.

Burberry. TWO HUNDRED. Two. Zero. Zero.

Let’s all take a moment of silence.

OK. Now, the coat isn’t your typical trench — there aren’t buttons on each side and the collar is different. However, I think I love it more because of that. It fits perfectly and I basically want to wear it all the time.

I look 12 here. I swear I’m 23.

Amen.

Also, if and when you visit Chicago, do yourself a favor and go to the lounge on the 96th floor of the John Hancock Center. Order a delicious cocktail and the chocolate bread pudding. Eat, drink and be merry.

Then, go to the ladies’ room and take pictures of the view. You won’t have to deal with the crowds in the lounge and it is truly spectacular.

Peace out, Chi-Town.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 11:30 am

    That coat is amazing! Awesome find and TOTALLY worth it!

  2. Laura permalink
    September 30, 2010 12:17 pm

    I kind of love Second Time Around. They had one a couple blocks from where I lived in Providence, and another one in Harvard Square. I got $40 Coach flats there in RI that fit PERFECTLY. Definitely proves the point that expensive shoes are significantly better quality…too bad I won’t pay the $170 retail pricetag.

    It saddens me that St. Louis so thoroughly lacks thrift/consignment/vintage stores that aren’t the downtown Goodwill (which is mildly scary, to be honest). Glad you did so well shopping, and also had a good trip 🙂

    • September 30, 2010 12:32 pm

      Thanks, Laura! I need to do more research on these two stores that apparently have multiple locations. Although I should probably forbid myself to enter any NYC thrift stores for the next 6 months.

      And I totally hear you on expensive shoes – often they are definitely better quality, but it pains me to pay full price.

  3. September 30, 2010 7:01 pm

    What an awesome find! And yes, it’s an investment!

    • September 30, 2010 9:16 pm

      I still can’t get over it! Thanks for the comment, Viktoria!

  4. Shannon's Mom permalink
    September 30, 2010 8:09 pm

    I love Chicago. And I love the fact that my daughter is such an excellent shopper!!!

    • September 30, 2010 9:13 pm

      I learned from the best!

      P.S. you can use your name, we all know who you are! 🙂

  5. October 4, 2010 10:31 pm

    You had the find of the century. Seriously, what a great trench coat!

    Love your photos of Chicago. That skyline is beautiful.

    • October 4, 2010 10:51 pm

      😀 Thanks, JoAnn! Definitely visit the city if you ever get a chance!

  6. Mekelle permalink
    October 5, 2010 9:12 pm

    WOW!!! That coat is SOOO cute! In love and jealous.

    • October 5, 2010 11:11 pm

      Thanks, Mekelle! gchat me sometime — I feel like we’re due for a catch-up sesh!

Trackbacks

  1. My top five fall must-haves « Thrifty Threads
  2. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

