Skip to content

“I’d like to die with my boots on.”

October 4, 2010

I feel invincible in a good pair of boots.

For some reason, heels or pumps don’t cut it. The chunk of heel boosts me up toward the ceiling, and a thin layer of material solely clings to my toes and ankles. Each step on the sidewalk is simply hoping for the best. I feel lanky and wobbly in pumps, like I’m the walking version of a leaning Jenga tower seconds before it collapses. But boots… boots! They hug my legs, carrying me through each step. I don’t wear boots, the boots wear me. And for some reason, damn, I feel great wearing them.

I also think boots are one of the few fashion staples that can make a girl feel sexier while covering skin, not showing more off. Not to get too Cosmopolitan, but I recently asked 7 guy friends at random, 5 of whom said they’d prefer a girl in boots over a pair of pumps or stilettos. Just sayin’.

I have 10 pairs myself: black flat over-the-knees, black slouchy mid-calfs, black heeled knee-highs, black stilettoed pointy-toed knee-highs, black wedged “boots with the fur,” brown heeled knee-highs, grey booties (are you still with me?), black mid-calf winter boots for when I can’t feel my limbs, black mid-calf winter boots for when I can feel my limbs, and my rain boots. And they are all my babies, in that I love them all equally. (Except for my Nine West flat over-the-knees which, much like the youngest child in a large family, are so my favorite. Discussed here.)

I lost my boot virginity to a hideous pair of Timberlands in middle school. (Don’t we all try to forget our first time?) But I owe my love-at-first-sight of the boot to Julia Roberts. When I popped in that “Pretty Woman” VHS tape at 10 years old while my parents were asleep, I understood that boots meant business. Thanks, Julia.

Julia's classic hooker boots.

Fall has finally arrived, and I couldn’t be happier about stowing away my flip-flops and booting up for cold weather.

Although I really don’t need another pair of boots, I had to do my “research” in order to write this post, right? Right!? Here are some of my favorites that I’ve seen lately, from the affordable to the yowza:

Red & black rainboots, Target, $24.99

These are UGA-biased, obviously. My plaid rain boots are from Target and have endured many a storm. In my opinion, you don’t want to get too crazy with the design, because they won’t go with everything, and when you’re putting on rain boots you’re always in a hurry — who has time to find a matching outfit when it’s monsoon-ing and you have to get to work? Go with a solid or two-toned color boot.

Rose booties, Target, $39.99

Out of all the boot styles, booties are my least favorite. They tend to be awkward with jeans and therefore tend to promote leggings as pants. They seem to work best with tights and a dress. Personally, I like my boots to hug my legs. But these are adorable and counteract everything I just said.

Aldo, $80

I have a love-hate relationship with Aldo shoes (So overpriced! But so cute! Damn you, Aldo!), but these are a rare pair that I think are appropriately priced. And I love wedge shoes — so easy to walk in!

Michael Antonio, $87.95

I mean, you can’t help but drool looking at these. I’m sure I’d topple over with that stiletto, but still — fierce!

Blowfish, $89.95

I love the versatile grey on these, the buckles, and of course the wedge. I’ve also heard good things about this brand.

Gabriella Rocha, $93

Purple and black — my go-to color scheme. I may have to splurge and buy these.

Kate Spade, $125

Sometimes you have to completely indulge your feminine side. These are very Charlotte York in the best way possible. J’adore, Kate Spade. J’adore.

Doc Martens, $150

I can’t write about boots without a shoutout to Doc Martens. Personally, I don’t think I can pull them off, but anyone who can should. A classic look and a sturdy shoe.

Steve Madden Smyrna, $150

I actually find most Steve Madden shoes to be extremely uncomfortable, and every time I see the brand it screams so seventh- grade-flashback (handprint stickers covering your binders, anyone?), but I love the burnt color on these.

Nina Nakona, $159.95

I absolutely love these. Lady Gaga concert, anyone?

Uggs, $160

I know, I know, UGGs are controversial, but how cute are these for when it’s freezing out and you need to run a couple errands? I also think that the potential of Uggs boots has been ruined by those that have worn them inappropriately. If you wear them in the winter when it’s actually cold out, they can work.

Fergie, $169.95

No surprise that a shoe designed by Fergie is going to catch my attention. I haven’t read any reviews yet about the comfort level of her shoes, though. Doubt it’s top-priority.

Alexander McQueen, $1429

May he rest in peace. Beautiful boots, but for Christ’s sake, that’s almost two months rent! To each their own…

Ginny and I, booting it up in downtown Athens.

These boots are made for walking…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    October 4, 2010 4:02 pm

    I am actually wearing my brand new heeled black calf boots as I am typing this. There were 20 bucks at Off Broadway (but one get one half off, pretty good to me). I agree with preferring boots over heels. I don’t get stiletto boots, so the chunky heels work better for a shoty like me. Also, I wore a pair of flat gray boots around Vegas last December and didn’t get blisters. That is an A+ on the shoe test if you ask me. I now find myself longing for heeled brown boots since the brown boots I have are only just a slight heel and I need some fo sho height.

  2. October 4, 2010 10:34 pm

    I feel invincible in my Target knee-high boots. Heels make me wobbly and awkward too. But heels are sturdy, reliable and chic. Love them.

    I have a pair of booties that I’m forcing myself to wear this fall! Even if they aren’t my favorite shoe design, I figure their suede selves should add texture to some autumn outfits.

  3. October 4, 2010 10:50 pm

    The only pair of boots I currently have with me are my new cowboy boots. I feel a little silly wearing them to work every day, but it’s been super rainy. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I can’t wait to get all my boots out of my parents’ basement this weekend!

  4. October 5, 2010 12:45 am

    I lived in boots last winter. I’m trying to transition to booties a little more now that I’m in a more hospitable climate, but sometimes I slide on my dirty pirate hooker boots (AKA my black flat Aldo boots) and I just feel like I’m home. So comfy.

  5. January 2, 2012 6:01 pm

    Get the best headphones reviews from my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Top fall picks, Katy style « Thrifty Threads
  2. The Return of the Thrift + Closet Consultation « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

