Skip to content

An accessory to inspiration

October 5, 2010

After my shopping transgressions of the past few months, I find myself back on a shop block. While I might still allow myself the occasional visit to a local thrift store, I am going to try my hardest to steer clear of buying anything. That will probably be easier said than done. I find when I put myself on some sort of mini-assignment for this blog that my creativity is better. So as I did awhile back where I shopped my closet for a week to find new and forgotten combinations, this week, I shopped my accessories.

For this experiment, I turned to my necklace collection. I’m more of a statement necklace person, so a good deal of the necklaces I own are longer or bigger than your average charm necklace. Keeping this in mind, I decided to create outfits to showcase some of my forgotten favorites.

Commence the headless fashion shots!

IMAG0003
IMAG0002

Day 1: The Spanish glass necklace. Blazer (thrifted), black tank (Old Navy), khaki skirt (Target), black heels (thrifted)

My mother gifted me this necklace that she picked up in Barcelona while on a cruise last summer. It had been hanging with my other necklaces for awhile, longing to be worn. I love the combination of colors, so I decided it would be a perfect beginning to my experiment. I wanted to wear a neutral outfit and let the necklace be the focus.

IMAG0006
IMAG0005

Day 2: The mixed color chain. Dress (Target), cardigan (GAP), belt (Forever 21), black flats (Chinese Laundry via DSW)

Whenever I pop in to Forever 21, I always seem to find some accessory I need (need being the key word here). I actually had a few other pieces in my hands when I saw this and immediately wanted it. I think it was only $7, so I scooped it up. While I like it here as one strand, I really like this better doubled and almost wish I would’ve found a way to wear it that way instead.

IMAG0008

IMAG0007

Day 3: The silver locket. Blazer (Forever 21), detailed tank (Target), grey pinstripe pants (New York and Company), shoes (Target)

I don’t remember why I was in Old Navy, but I was, and I found this locket for $5. I really like long charm necklaces as opposed to the shorter ones, and this one was perfect. It is a functioning locket, so I found myself constantly opening and closing it all day at work. Maybe I’ll actually put a picture in it, but I doubt it.

IMAG0010

IMAG0009

Day 4: Long strand of pearls. Jacket (Forever 21), grey t-shirt (Forever 21), black cropped pants (Target), shoes (thrifted)

Now these obviously aren’t real pearls. I got these in a swap a year or so, and as a singular strand, it is a super long necklace. I never really wore it because it was almost TOO long. I really like how it looks tripled, almost a bib-style necklace, so I will probably be implementing this more in the future.

So there it is. I only did four days as opposed to five because Thursday was my day off (plus is was rainy and gross) so I didn’t wear anything special (definitely nothing worth sharing).  I do really enjoy little projects like this. It gives me direction when I pick out my clothes for the day and keeps me from resorting to the same clothing and accessories. I am trying to think up more to do. Academic Chic recently did a black and white week, which I have wanted to do for awhile. I also thought about taking a very spring/summery piece everyday and making it appropriate for fall/winter, taking a dress and wearing it in a different way (i.e. just using the skirt or the top, etc), or styling a look around a blazer everyday. I might give some of these a try, so we will see.

Are there any accessory pieces you like to style outfits around? Do you have any ideas for fun blog projects?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 11:41 am

    Gorgeous collection.

  2. October 5, 2010 11:45 am

    I still say we need to have a Thrifty Threads clothing swap.

Trackbacks

  1. Top fall picks, Katy style « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

