Skip to content

My top five fall must-haves

October 11, 2010

The high temperature tomorrow is 64. It’s — finally — officially fall. So what am I post looking forward to rocking this season? Which items in my closet are going to be in heavy rotation? How many ways can I wear that one black dress?

1. THE TRENCH.

Obviously. I’m pretty sure I will wear this coat basically every day this fall.

2. Black Oxford booties.

I love these shoes. They’re easy to walk in, comfy and dress up an otherwise normal dress with tights.

3. Speaking of which … Black tights. Self explanatory. I could not live without these in the fall and winter. I pair them with skirts, dresses and yes, shorts. I actually just bought a wool-blend pair from H&M that are MUCH warmer than the ones I normally wear.

4. My cropped leather jacket.

I got this one at Beacon’s Closet back in February. I love pairing this with random dresses for weekend nights out. The last time I donned it, I threw it on over a sequined tank top and it was perfect.

5. Red wedge boots

This picture makes my feet look huge. I do wear a size 9 1/2, but this picture makes them look freakishly big.

Anyway, I like these boots because I can use them to add a good splash of color to my otherwise typically black wardrobe. Perfect with skinny jeans and a black blazer for work.

(Full disclosure: I had originally intended to write about 10 items. I’m more than a little exhausted, though, since I just got back from a long weekend in Atlanta — so good to see my family and friends there, including Melanie! Maybe next week I’ll finish my list?)

What are your must-have items for fall? What are the most versatile pieces in your wardrobe right now?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    October 11, 2010 11:08 pm

    Well, I was actually going to share my favorite items for fall this week too! Great minds think alike. I really love the Oxford booties and I’m trying to find an affordable pair. Where did you get yours?

    • October 12, 2010 9:33 am

      I can’t wait to see your favorite fall items! I got those boots from ModCloth.com last January. They’re a little bit big on me since their shoes don’t come in half sizes, so I had to get a 10. Still, I love them! (I also like to pair them with shorts and tights. Personally, I’m not really a huge fan of booties with jeans.)

  2. October 12, 2010 4:28 pm

    Can I just live in your closet, Shannon? (Oh God, that sounds creepy) I love all these picks, esp that cropped leather jacket. Beacon’s is amazing…

    • October 12, 2010 4:33 pm

      Hahaha not creepy at all – kind of funny, actually. Beacon’s is definitely awesome, and I haven’t actually been there since I moved. Huge fail on my part, but at this point, there really isn’t anything I need except the winter essentials: huge sleeping bag-esque coat, gloves and rubber-sole boots

      Also, you reminded me that I really should make an effort to post more daily outfits. My style has definitely evolved since I moved here and started working FT!

Trackbacks

  1. Top fall picks, Katy style « Thrifty Threads
  2. Melanie’s Faves for Fall « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

