Skip to content

Top fall picks, Katy style

October 12, 2010

OK, so I swear I was planning on doing this post prior to Shannon’s update yesterday. Really, I pinky promise.

Fall is my favorite season, hands down. Football. Thanksgiving (my favorite holiday). I love drinking cider and eating tomato soup. Something about the change in weather just feels home-y to me, even though I’ve been away from my “home” for more than three years now.

I had been thinking about this for a few weeks now, yet when I walked in to my closet to actually pick out what were my picks, I kinda had fashion-block. I haven’t really adopted any of the current fall trends (not saying I haven’t, but I just haven’t yet), so I felt maybe my fall pickings were slim. But I ended up setting on five things (or five groups of things)

IMAG0017

It’s not a secret how much I love blazers (as evidenced here and a little here here). I just really love how they add a layer of structure to any outfit. These are two of my current faves (both thrifted from the same trip to Goodwill, each only 7 bucks). The left one is a bit big on me so I choose to pair it with skinny jeans and a t-shirt, tank, and flats. The other fits me perfect and I’ve worn it to work with khaki dress pants and out and about with jeans.

IMAG0018

Next up are scarves. Scarves of all shapes, sizes and colors. I’m not afraid to wear scarves in the summer (even despite all of those co-worker comments like “You know it’s summer out and you have a scarf on, right?”), but fall and winter are my favorite times of the year to wear them on a regular basis. I generally go for a fun pattern or color, so it’s something different from the norms. Each of these scarves were around $10 (the floral one in the middle is from a shop in Boston, the two on either side are from World Market). I like experimenting with new ways to wear them, so if you have any tips, let me know!

IMAG0021

As Jenny pointed out last week, boots go together with fall and winter like marshmallows go with hot cocoa. My boot collection is rather small in comparison to some (I have these four, then two other pairs), but I love them all. The black ones on the left were the most recent addition (a $22 dollar find at Off Broadway), but I probably wear the gray ones the most. I walked around Las Vegas in them last December and they were super comfy. Looking at these boots remind me that I also need to stock up on some more tights…

 

IMAG0019

Dressed? Huh? This is a fall post, right? Well the thing I love about these dresses (as well as a few others in my wardrobe) is they are easily transitioned from spring and summer to fall and winter. The navy patterned one on the left (a $6 find at Plato’s Closet) I specifically bought to pair with tights and boots). The dress on the left is probably one of the top 10 items in my wardrobe. It is from Top Shop and was one of only a few clothing items I purchase while studying abroad in the UK back in 2006 (I now wholly regret not shopping more while I’m over there. I only went in to Primark ONCE!). I wear it year round, and actually like it more with flats than boots (shock horror).

IMAG0020

My last category isn’t for a specific item or genre, it is more of a broad statement. I just love fall colors in clothing. Cream, minty green, browns, burnt orange, rose pink, navy and especially oatmeal. There is something just warm about fall hues and make me feel cozy. Stores (thrift or not) are packed full of all of these colors right now. The items above have all been procured in the last month or so (from left, Target; middle two, thrifted; right, New York and Company), so maybe I was just primed for fall clothing for awhile.

All I want to do now is rush home from work and play around with putting together fall outfits. I just wish it would permanently transition to fall in D.C. I’m pretty sure 85 is totally unacceptable.

What are your top fall picks? Is there anything I’m missing or overlooking this season?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 4:29 pm

    You keep reminding me that I need to experiment with blazers! I really like your dress picks and that orange sweater. My fall picks would include all of these plus my leather skirt 🙂

  2. October 12, 2010 5:46 pm

    I was going to talk about scarves, too, but I didn’t have a decent picture handy and I was way too exhausted last night to snap new pics. I love your blazers, and I will definitely be wearing mine (all two of them) a lot this fall.

    Also, those dresses transition to fall perfectly! I love summery dresses w/ dark bases for that reason exactly.

Trackbacks

  1. A question…and some confessions « Thrifty Threads
  2. Scarves all around « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

