Skip to content

Melanie’s Faves for Fall

October 13, 2010

Unlike Katy, I hadn’t planned to write about my favorite picks for fall before Shannon’s post. But then after Katy’s, I figured why not keep the trend going?

Normally the warmer months are my favorite time of year (beach, anyone?), but over the years I’ve developed a fond appreciation for fall. I can’t complain when I walk outside and it feels exactly the same as inside.

And since it really doesn’t start to get cold here in Atlanta ’til around Thanksgiving, there’s nothing not to like about fall – except the inevitable winter that comes after.

1. My Cognac Boots

I bought these last fall at Target and still absolutely love them. To be completely honest, they’re a major reason I’ve been looking forward to fall. They fit almost any style, with any color, and they’re super comfortable.

2. Leaf Earrings


I bought these on Etsy last month, and have already worn them many times. They’re so fun, but not heavy, and perfect for the season.

3. Light Scarves


As I said before, it doesn’t get very cold in Atlanta in the fall. However, scarves are festive. I actually bought this one for $5 at The Clothing Warehouse (Little 5 Points) yesterday!

4. Cardigans


Yes, this is kind of a “duh,” but I really do live in these. This one was a Target Daily Deal recently for $10, so I scooped up the one above, as well as this one. They’re perfect for when it’s cool in the morning and evenings but warm during the day. And this year I’m looking forward to experimenting with brooches on them.

5. Hats

OK, though I’ve tried to be, I’m really not much of a hat person. But I really do love the look. How do you feel about them? I think when worn right, they can be the perfect finishing touch for looking put together.

So here’s to a new season and new style!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    October 13, 2010 1:36 pm

    I have been wanting a pair of leaf earrings for awhile now and had also be perusing Etsy. Whenever I go to Etsy, however, I end up buying much more than I initially intend to. But now, I need some. Maybe I will wait for Christmas, but I doubt that.

    • Melanie permalink*
      October 13, 2010 8:30 pm

      I was so excited when I found them! Another blogger (can’t remember who) recommended someone one Etsy, and I clicked through their other items ’til I stumbled upon them. They were definitely about $8 too.

  2. October 13, 2010 1:36 pm

    I love those cognac boots! I got mine from Target last fall too and they go with everything. I feel like cognac is a much better neutral to work with than black sometimes.

    I wish I was more of a hat person. I’ve been wanting to find the perfect vintage cloche hat since high school… I used to have a brown one, but it was made of that felt material instead of wool, and promptly died when it got washed.

    Anyways, great picks!

    • Melanie permalink*
      October 13, 2010 8:37 pm

      They’re the best! I wore them today, actually, with a black dress.

  3. October 13, 2010 1:47 pm

    I love those boots. And I’m with JoAnn – cognac is awesome because it can easily be worn with everything!

    I bought that fedora back in April (May?) and I have maybe worn it twice. I’m hoping they’re still in style next spring because I really need to wear it more, and I feel like I won’t stick out as much if I wear it up here.

    Also, I love my leaf earrings too. Mine are from F21.

    • Melanie permalink*
      October 13, 2010 8:38 pm

      I know, I have a summery fedora too, and I’ve worn it twice.

Trackbacks

  1. Scarves all around « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

