Skip to content

The evolution of a Halloween costume

October 25, 2010

I love fall. Let me count the ways … cooler temps, BOOTS, pumpkin spice lattes, carving pumpkins, pumpkin pie, pumpkin ale, scarves, changing leaves … Suffice it to say this season is the greatest. And one of my favorite holidays is in fall: Halloween. Growing up, my family always went all-out with an infamous “haunted porch” that I’m sure scarred some of the neighborhood kids for life. (At the very least, they were all terrified of clowns thanks to us.) Now, I love pulling together fun, crazy costumes from thrift stores and vintage shops.

The last few years, I was Madonna and Alex Owens (aka the girl from “Flashdance”). I know. I know. My ’80s obsession knows no bounds. This year, though, for Jenny’s Halloween/housewarming party, I wanted to go with a cool vintage flair and find an awesome ’60s dress and go as Peggy Olson from “Mad Men.”

I’ve been told by a few people that there’s a resemblance, although I’m not sure whether that’s a compliment or an insult. (Elisabeth Moss is lovely, but they certainly frumped up her character’s style.)

Anyway, after I cut my hair (the bangs are back, you guys!) I decided to pair my (fake) gold jewelry with a white dress (via thrift store) and be Cleopatra. (This also fed into my ’80s mania, as I planned to walk around with my iPhone playing “Walk Like an Egyptian” all night.)

Saturday, though, Jenny and I were wandering around the East Village and stumbled upon this random outdoor thrift store/flea market. There were a ton of cool ’60s dresses, but sadly, none of them were for us. I did, however, find this awesomely fabulous faux fur coat.

After I snapped it up for a mere $20, Jenny suggested my Halloween costume take another form: the most fabulous Disney villain of all time … Cruella de Vil.

The coat isn’t long like Cruella’s, but I don’t really care. I’m planning on picking up a pair of red gloves and a cigarette holder, but other than that, the costume is done. (Do you guys think baby powder will transform half my hair white?)

For the record, I have never worn real fur and I don’t really know how comfortable I’d be donning it. This really gets into a whole other topic, but I wanted to put that out there.

What are you guys doing for Halloween? Do you buy the pre-made costumes or piece together different items from your closet or thrift stores?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

