Skip to content

Shifting thoughts

October 26, 2010

So I’m about waist deep in my thesis at this point in time and it is hard for me to think about things other than content analysis and the APA Publication Manual. Thus I was struggling in coming up with something to write about and I always look forward to blogging here because it is a respite from grad work.

I’m not sure how it is everywhere, but in D.C., it hasn’t really felt like fall very much. We’ve had a few chilly days, but the past week or so has been hovering near 70. Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s be lovely. But I just want to wear boots, tights, and jackets on a regular basis. I ventured to a corn maze and pumpkin patch this past weekend and saw some people dressing like it was still summer. Shorts and flip flops seemed to be the norm.

I think it’s easy to transition some clothes from summer to fall and winter. Floral dresses can be paired with tights and boots. Sleeveless tops and tanks can be worn underneath blazers. But I happened upon a few items in my closet that I wasn’t quite sure could make the transition.

IMAG0032

The first is this white dress/tunic. I have had this dress for awhile. I got it back in the summer of 2006 for 5 pounds when I was studying abroad at Oxford. I love wearing it in the summer with a brown belt and flip flops, but lately I’ve been wondering if I could still be wearing it. Of course, I balked, thinking “You can’t wear white like this after Labor Day.” But I’m mean really, where did that come from? Now, I haven’t officially done a fall look with this as of yet, but I have one in mind. This plus dark jeggings/skinny jeans, a thin black belt, an oatmeal-colored cardigan, and black boots/flats? I think I might just have to try it out and see.

The next item I probably can’t get away with.

IMAG0033

Wedges. Oh these wedges. I love these shoes. I got them on sale in July when the Bandolino store was closing at a mall near by They are pretty comfortable and make me almost as tall as a contestant on America’s Next Top Model. I’ve paired them with skirts and dress as well as jeans and capris. But could these ever transition to fall? There I am not quite sure. As much as I might want to, I’m not quite sure I am in favor of wedges with tights. Thoughts?

I’m sure everyone has items like this that they want to wear year round, but some may prove to be more versatile than others.

Do you have any summer loves you have thought of shifting into this season?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 1:33 pm

    I can definitely see that white tunic working for an outfit like you described. Also, could you put a skirt over it and pair it with a cardigan or something?

    I think you may be right about the shoes … not only am I (personally) not a fan of slingback wedges w/ tights, the raffia or whatever that is (I can’t think of the word right now) makes them decidedly summery.

    Honestly, I wear a ton of my clothes year-round. I’m big into layering everything, especially when I’m going to have to walk around in the cold but then sit in an office all day. Tights, boots and a cardigan work pretty well for a bunch of my dresses. As long as the florals are darker-toned (which most of mine are, because I wear a lot of black), I don’t think it’s an issue for winter.

  2. Jess permalink
    October 26, 2010 2:40 pm

    Tragically, temperatures in Austin are still hovering around 90, so my fall wardrobe is pretty much the same as summer at this point. Eventually I’ll start adding in my heavier cardigans and tights. I agree with Shannon that most of my clothes are multi-season – it just depends on the number/thickness of layers.

    I bought a lot of tops with shoulder details this year, and I don’t think they’ll make the transition to fall/winter well because they look lumpy under cardigans.

    • October 26, 2010 3:48 pm

      Ugh it hit 70 degrees here today! In New York! Six days from November!

      …No words.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s that time of year « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

