Skip to content

It don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got that swing

October 28, 2010

I can’t believe Halloween is this weekend! Back in college, Shannon and I hosted parties the last two years which were always a blast and took lots of planning. This year, it really sneaked up on me.

Don’t have any real plans or even a costume. However, recently I did pick up a go-to costume from my parents house if I end up needing it: my flapper costume from 2007.

When I was younger, my mom used to make my costume every year. Jack in the Box, Liesel from Sound of Music, a clown, to name a few. These costumes were always really cute and well-made!

In spring 2007, I was thrifting with my mom when I stumbled upon a flapper dress, and it was good quality! Obviously I bought it for costume purposes.

Dress: thrifted
Black headband + feather clip: Walmart
Faux pearl necklace and earrings (hidden): thrifted, Goodwill
Fishnet tights: Target
Mary Jane pumps: Target
Black boa (not pictured): Michael’s

Definitely my favorite costume in recent years — and the first one that was primarily thrifted! Do you have any Halloween plans this year?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    October 28, 2010 3:13 pm

    I’m not normally a big Halloween fan. I barely remember celebrating it after middle school. I usually just go out and do something because it seems like the cool thing to do. The past two year I have assed my costume, but as I posted last week, I am putting more effort in this year. I am hitting up a party on Friday then going to this like big party thing and a local bar/club on Saturday. Should be fun and wholly unproductive academically.

Leave a Reply

