Skip to content

A question…and some confessions

November 2, 2010

Today is Election Day which means, as a newspaper employee, I am in for a loooong day (and night, and potentially early morning). But I couldn’t neglect this post! I am going to warn y’all ahead of time, this post is a bit all over the place, but that seems to be the current theme of my life these days.

So to start off, a question. I need some help. As discussed in previous posts by I think every contributor to this blog, boots are pretty much the most amazing thing on the planet during the fall and the winter. I have a wide variety of boots, but there is one pair that seems to be missing from my wardrobe that I currently am lusting for.

shoes_iaec1148344

I am in the market for tan/cognac/whatever colored mid-calf or knee high boots. These would be perfect (Steve Madden, about $140) minus the price tag. Yea, I might break down and buy them or as for them for Christmas, but I have been on a hunt to try and find an affordable alternative. So this is where I am asking for help. Have you been able to locate a similar style boot for less? Please, send suggestions my way.

But now on to the bulk of my post. I was thinking last night about fashion confessions, i.e. the things I don’t often make common knowledge to people. We all have them, we are all ashamed (maybe), but sometimes, it helps to talk about it. Surprisingly, I came up with quite a few, so I am going to share some of them.

1. I still own clothes from high school, and maybe even middle school.  I mentioned this to my roommate, and she was appalled. Is it really that bad? They are still in good condition and still fit me, so what’s the problem?

2. I sometimes wear leggings as pants. Some contributors to this blog might shame me for this, but I can’t help it. They are so comfortable. That being said, if I wear them out in public, it’s usually only to Target or the grocery store.

3. I prefer flats to heels. A lot of people are different in this regard, and it really isn’t all that controversial, but I just want to throw it out there. My poor feet can’t take it if I go out in heels. It’s fine when I go to work because I am sitting all day, and I love cute heels, but my flats get the most wear.

4. I am kinda sick of thrifting…for the moment. I was on a huge thrifting kick the past few months, but after hitting the jackpot early on, I have since stalled in my finds. I’ve decided I’m going to steer clear of my local thrifting spots for awhile so I don’t lose the joy I associate with thrifting.

So there are just a few of my confessions. Not that big of a deal, but it was rather cathartic. I probably could’ve shared more, but a girl needs to have some secrets, right?

What are some of your fashion confessions?

P.S. I’m sure everyone is sick of Halloween posts, but I promised to share a pic of my costume. For some reason, it didn’t occur to me to get a full-length shot, but this will do.

CIMG3092

My boyfriend wen as Elvis, if you couldn’t tell. This was toward the end of the evening, so I look slightly disheveled, but the costume was still a big hit. I hope everyone had a good (and safe) Halloween!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 5:25 pm

    I have to just tell you, I bought those Steve Madden boots this year and I’ve literally worn them almost every day. They are PERFECT. The cognac goes with every color (including black) and they are wide enough to wear with jeans or leggings but still look good in dresses.

    I wear them at least 4 times a week and they’re comfortable to walk in and they’re not heavy at all.

    Don’t let the price scare you. I’ve been craving them since last year and they are exactly what I wanted! Happy boot shopping!

  2. November 2, 2010 9:21 pm

    I have the ripoff ones from Target — I got them last year — and I STILL wear them all the time. I wear them at least four days a week like Ashley said. I keep empty wine bottles in them at night when I’m not wearing them to maintain the shape. (I also bought the black ones last year but they didn’t last as well.)

    And let me get back to you about the fashion confessions….

  3. November 5, 2010 2:03 pm

    Like Shannon, I got the Target knockoffs in cognac and I wear them all the time, though my daily outdoor photography excursions have scuffed them up quite a bit. So maybe I should ask for the Steve Maddens for Christmas too…

    I will say, regardless of which boots you get this season, cognac is a ridiculously awesome neutral that goes with everything.

Trackbacks

  1. Making it work « Thrifty Threads
  2. Thrifted inspiration « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

