Skip to content

Get Your Deal-Savvy On

November 4, 2010

Think about it: How frequently do you shop for clothes, shoes and accessories?

When given the funds, I’ll pick up a piece or two on nearly every outing to a Target, Goodwill or other store. However, the only stores I’ve spent much time in over the last month have been grocery stores, so no clothes shopping.

Today for the first time in a while, I was in Target. And wouldn’t you know it? I succumbed to a pair of red tights ($5) and a burgundy lacy cardigan on the clearance rack ($9).

Apparently that was just the spark I needed to get in the “deal hunting” mindset again. Here are some of my favorite way to find great deals:

Target
Since I already mentioned it, I’ll start here. Everyone knows Target is a discount box store. But the company has really made it easy for us to find great deals. Between the Target designer lines, large clearance racks and online deals (Weekly Deals and Daily Deals), it’s hard to miss discounts.

Thrifting
This method takes a little more work, but if you’re willing and able to put in the time, it’s not too difficult to find some steals. My favorite right now is the Goodwill right around the corner from my apartment – the perfect all in one stop. I’ve found tops, dresses, faux plants and martini glasses there. I’m planning a trip soon to check out the blazer selection…

Social Media
Facebook, Twitter and FourSquare are taking over the world! Facebook is now the most visited website (over Google), and most major stores have accounts on each platform. And guess what? When they have sales and specials, they’re most likely to be here first. So “Like” your favorite stores on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. Chances are, if you keep up you’ll be able to find some good deals (such as JCPenny’s check-in special below). If you’re on Twitter and FourSqaure, following FourSquare for your area is always a good idea. Here are links to Atlanta and New York.

Daily Deal Notifications
I already mentioned Target’s Daily Deals (which I follow on Twitter), but I also get daily email notifications from Groupon, Scoutmob (usually restaurants, but the occasional boutique), LivingSocial, Tippr and Half Off Depot. There are many more out there, but it can be hard to keep up with them all. If you’re in Atlanta, I recommend keeping up with Atlanta on the Cheap (and following her on Twitter) because she combines the deals from all these other sites in one place. If you’re not in Atlanta, there might be another Cities on the Cheap in your area.

Still with me? Yes, this is a lot to keep up with. But if you want to find the deals, you’ve gotta be willing to put in the work. Or if you’re like me, you’ll end up spending money when you didn’t intend to. But overall, I think the deals are worthwhile – I just have to remind myself not to buy something I wouldn’t be in the market for anyway, even if it were full price.

Do you have any other deal-finding tips to share?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 8:54 pm

    Love this post! Just wanted to point out Macy’s Facebook Deal, effective today!

    (Disclosure: Macy’s is a client.)

Leave a Reply

