Skip to content

I’ve been a very bad blogger.

November 8, 2010

Poor Thrifty Threads has been so neglected by me.

BUT! This week, I actually have a good excuse for being a poor excuse of a blogger.

I spent the weekend packing up my belongings and moving from Queens to Manhattan. For those keeping score at home, this is the fourth time I have moved this year. Phew. (I spent last week looking for a new place in a panic. I sent dozens of Craigslist e-mails Thursday, saw a few places Thursday night and got the call on Friday. Welcome to New York real estate.)

I didn’t do a huge clothing overhaul like the Atlanta-to-New York move. It’s almost winter here — haven’t you heard? — and I need all the (warm) clothing I can get. (The high today was like 45. I’m in for a real treat this winter.)

So instead of posting a real entry, I’m going to ask for both your forgiveness and help. Forgive me for being a Thrifty Threads slacker, and help me figure out where to purchase a winter coat.

Coat pictured is my mom’s, borrowed. And this pic almost makes me want to cut my hair again … NO. Must. Not. Give. In. I MISS MY LONG HAIR!

Anyway. I digress.

I need something warm, probably puffy, preferably with a removable faux-fur collar and black. And of course, I’d love it if it’s not too terribly hideous. Also, I don’t want to spend a lot of money.

Help?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 8, 2010 10:17 pm

    I just bought a new down parka from Eddie Bauer. They have a bunch of options right now, but their sale just ended, sadly. Also, as a person who has dealt with, ahem, real winter in the not-so-distant past (no, St. Louis does NOT count as real winter), I fully support the purchase of a poofy, at least butt-covering coat, regardless of cute factor. Sure, cute is a plus, but in situations like these there are much more important things to consider. Like frostbite. I have a pretty black dress coat from Banana Republic as well, but it really doesn’t cut it on truly cold days with wind off the Great Lakes when one must walk outside as much as I used to (and I’m sure you still do in NYC). Eddie Bauer might not be super thrifty, in keeping with the spirit of the blog, but they have reasonable prices for surprisingly good winter coats.

    Good luck with the coat hunting! Oh, and would you mind sending some 40’s in our direction? 72 degrees today! I’m miserable 😦

    • November 9, 2010 10:29 am

      Thanks for the tip, Laura! I’m less concerned about price in this case, as something good will last me for years and years. Obviously I just don’t want to spend hundreds and hundreds of dollars.

      (And yes, we’re outside quite a bit here in NYC!) 🙂

      And ugh you can have the 40s. I feel like we skipped fall this year!

      • Laura permalink
        November 9, 2010 11:44 am

        Haha, silly little southern girl…40’s is still fall in the north! Toto, you’re not in Georgia anymore! We have yet to get to fall. Seriously now, 72 yesterday, 75 today and tomorrow….in NOVEMBER???

        I’m still waiting for a nice chilly, drizzly day to snuggle under a blanket with a candle, a mug of hot chocolate and a movie. Hasn’t happened. Looks like it’s not going to, either. One more reason for me to get the hell out of here. To relate it back to your post, I don’t actually foresee a need to even use the awesome new coat I bought (oh, and it was $120, so not ridiculous, just for your researching purposes). Good thing I’ll be heading to New England soon, or I’d feel I wasted my money this year 😦

  2. November 8, 2010 10:57 pm

    I have four coats in heavy rotation, all from Old Navy. I got my long down racket (with a removable fur-lined hood) at ON four years ago and it’s still serving me well. 🙂

    • November 9, 2010 10:29 am

      Hmm good call. I may have to pay a visit to the Old Navy down the street from my office…

  3. Katy permalink*
    November 9, 2010 12:10 pm

    I have a jacket fetish. I think in my closet right now I have six or seven different warm coats. The ones that get the most wear are my trench (it has a super warm liner), my black pea coat/swing jacket, and the red Isaac Mizrahi for Target long coat I inherited from my roommate. The ones I purchased were all less than 30 dollars and have lasted me my three years here in D.C. It doesn’t get as cold in D.C. as it does on NYC (I think), but a down coat sounds quite nice.

    • November 9, 2010 4:31 pm

      I borrowed my mom’s navy winter coat (seen above) when I visited NYC in February and it was definitely necessary. (Actually, it got even a little … dare I say WARM … that weekend. But that’s neither here nor there.) The most annoying thing about down coats is getting sweaty on the subway and dealing with coat check. Or worse, places that don’t have coat check. Ugh.

  4. Shannon's Mom permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:17 pm

    I wore that jacket when I was pregnant with Caitlin, so it is now 17 years old. Definitely worth the money I paid for it all those years ago. Living in GA, it is one of those items that I don’t use much, but am sure glad I have it when I need it (or when my daughter needs it!).

Leave a Reply

