Skip to content

Scarves all around

November 9, 2010

Everyone has those fashion items that they are always drawn too. Sure I love shoes. Yes, I love skirts and dresses. But recently, I’ve been buying  a ton of scarves. Scarves can be tricky for those who can’t break out of the “winter scarf” manta. As both myself and Melanie wrote awhile back, scarves are one of our favorite accessories for both fall and winter.

I went on a mission last week where I challenged myself to wear a scarf in a different way everyday. These are only part of my massive collection of scarfs, but I feel as though I am sharing a nice variety of styles and ways to wear.

1That last one is my way of saying “Hello”

(Scarves: Clockwise from top left: World Market, Forever 21, Goodwill, Eastern Market in D.C.)

12 copy

(Scarves: Left, some shop on Newbury Street in Boston; Right, Portobello Road market in London )

My favorites of all of them are probably the one with the gray button down and the one with the blue dress. Some of them I liked more than other, and some I might have just been wearing the scarf in the wrong way. I just love the effect of a scarf with an outfit, no matter what time of year, but especially during the fall and winter. These all ranged in different shapes, sizes, colors, and fabrics. The bright blue was a pashminia-type scarf. The purple and gold one and the colorful one were light and delicate. The two at the very top were quite large. There are no limits to how they can work for you.

That being said, I will share two ways of using scarves that didn’t/don’t work for me personally.

1) Tying one around the strap of your purse. I’ve seen a bunch of women doing this and I thought it looked super cute, so I tried it. And while yes, it did look nice, it was annoying. It kept coming untied and falling off. Then I ultimately dropped my purse in a puddle so I had to take it off to wash it. Scarf fail.

2) Using them as headbands. Let me first start off with saying I think I have an odd-shaped head. I’m one of those people who can’t even wear those stay-put head bands because they just slide up and pop off. Even with bobby pins, I couldn’t make a scarf stay put.

And for those who are interested, I am not wearing a scarf at this moment. I am, however, wearing a blazer, one of my other obsessions.

What are some of your favorite ways to wear scarves?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 4:29 pm

    I love all the different styles! So fun!

    I’m boring when it comes to scarves. I have two or three and I generally just loop them twice around my neck for warmth. They keep me oddly warm — even when wearing short sleeves — at the office.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s that time of year « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

