Skip to content

The Imperfect Outfit Dilemma

November 11, 2010

Ever have one of those mornings when you’re trying to get out the door, but that outfit that seemed so perfect in your head the night before just isn’t working?

They always say that to save time you should plan the next day’s outfit the night before. While that’s all well and good, even if you spend the time thinking about it, how many of us are actually going to take the time to try it on?

Exactly.

So here we are again, getting ready in the morning, and that camisole underneath the main top is hanging out beneath. Or that neckline just isn’t working. Or for some reason this belted cardigan just doesn’t feel right today.

I’m guessing we’ve all been there at one point or another. I know I have. And you know those extra 5-10 minutes to get it together mean you’re going to hit every red light on the way to work, right?

That being said, here are some of the quick solutions I’ve found when I just can’t seem to pull that imperfect outfit together:

Problem: I think this shirt is see-through.
If you’re not in the mood to show off undergarments to your co-workers, nude camis are a girl’s best friend. Yes, they’re boring and dull, but they’re intended to somewhat match skin tone. So if it’s laundry day, and you only have a blue bra and you’re dead-set on wearing a white top, it’s time to nude cami-up! Otherwise, I recommend, changing tops.

Problem: My undershirt/cami is hanging out below my regular top.
Tuck in the undershirt/cami if it doesn’t look ridiculous with the outfit. If it does, try pulling the cami up higher on your torso – you can even safety pin the straps in place if needed.

Problem: I wore this skirt in warmer weather, but now that I’m pairing it with tights, it keeps riding up awkwardly.
Invest in a few slips to have on hand for this situation. I have a nude color and a black one, both from Target. Although their intended purpose is to keep light from traveling through skirts and dresses, they very much come in handy when you’re dealing with tights and cotton skirts.

Problem: This dress with belted cardigan sounded good in my head, but it’s cutting me in the wrong place.
If you’re not feeling the strictly belted silhouette, try belting the dress and throw a cardigan over it. This way it still pulls in the dress at the waist, but you have coverage from the cardigan.

Problem: These layers look good, except they’re creating an awkward neckline.
I love the look of my navy Rodarte for Target top. But because it’s see-through, I have to wear something underneath. However, it’s also awkwardly low cut in the front which causes an especially odd neckline when the layer underneath is added. Now that the temps are cooler outside, my solution is to add a scarf and tie it in a way that covers up the awkwardness. Unfortunately I’ve yet to come up with a solution for when it’s warm out. Any suggestions are welcome.

What are some other troubles you’ve run into? Have you found a solution yet?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    November 11, 2010 12:31 pm

    I actually just recently discovered the belting the dress and putting a cardigan over it move. I feel it works really well with chunky belts. This reminds me….I need more nude camis…

Leave a Reply

