Skip to content

Seasonal Festivities — What to Wear

November 20, 2010

I know I’ve been saying it often, but I can’t believe it’s almost holiday season. With the holidays also come many celebrations — holiday parties, family get-togethers, weddings.

I bring this up because I’ve had a request for a “what to wear to a formal winter wedding” post. Though I’ve never been to a winter wedding, the fact of the matter is that winter attire is generally more “dressed up” than the light dresses of summer. So an outfit you’d wear out or to a cocktail party would generally translate well to a wedding.

Some points to keep in mind:

  • Where is the wedding? Outside: bring a jacket; In a church: if you’re wearing a strapless or low-cut dress, you might want to cover up with a wrap or pashmina.
  • How formal or casual is the wedding? Summer is generally more casual, and winter more formal. However, the time of day can make a difference, as well. The later the wedding, the more formal it’s likely to be. If you’re still not sure, ask someone in the wedding party or try and judge by the formality of the invitation.
  • What are the wedding colors? Obviously, you’d shouldn’t wear a white dress as a guest. But you also might want to avoid the wedding colors so you don’t end up inadvertently looking like a bridesmaid (unless the bride has asked you to wear specific colors, of course).
  • Wear something you feel comfortable and confident in. After all, you want to have a good time and be able to dance without angry feet.

Those points in mind, I’ve put together a few looks for ideas:

What are your thoughts on these looks? Do you have any fun events to dress up for this season?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    November 20, 2010 11:15 pm

    Ok, I’m officially obsessed with look #4. I need to know where to buy the wrap for sure. And the necklace from look #3. Excellent outfits, Mel!

  2. November 22, 2010 9:14 am

    Thank you for including flats with one of the outfits. I have a knee replacement and do not wear heels anymore. I always struggle when trying to create dressy outfits that have to be paired with flats.

    • Melanie permalink*
      November 22, 2010 10:18 am

      No problem! I love the look of heels, but rarely even wear them myself because I don’t like my feet to be uncomfortable. There are also so many cute flat options out there!

Leave a Reply

