Skip to content

What a year, Thrifty Threads!

November 29, 2010

Happy birthday, Thrifty Threads! It’s been just over a year since we started this blog and I’m pretty sure I can speak for all of us when I say we’ve enjoyed writing for this immensely. We have a fun birthday celebration week planned, so definitely stay tuned!

It’s been quite a year for me, both personally and with regards to fashion. Here’s a quick look back:

I talked about how much I hate Black Friday because crowded stores make me anxious and I prefer to treat shopping as therapy.

– My shoes were the subjects of many blog posts — notably this one, which references “Sex and the City” (obviously) and this one, which discusses my love of the Target gladiator sandal.

– I moved from my parents’ house in metro Atlanta to Atlanta’s Buckhead neighborhood. The first of many moves of 2010.

Jenny hosted me in New York for a long weekend and we went to Beacon’s Closet. My choice of footwear was not the smartest. I scored an awesome leather jacket that remains one of my favorite pieces.

Katy, Kristen, Melanie and I all went thrifting together in Atlanta!

– I embarked on a 45-day quest of no shopping. I failed. Say it with me now … Shopping is my therapy.

– With all the retro trends out there, I took a look back at some of my childhood fashion moments.

– I learned about the gloriousness that is Sephora. Multiple times.

– During Men’s Week, we talked about how the clothes make the man.

– Melanie and I ran (jogged? strolled?) the Peachtree Road Race in pseudo ’80s gear.

I moved to New York City. Six months after moving to Atlanta. And learned how to part with my clothing.

– Jenny and I experienced our first Georgia gameday in New York. It’s not really that different from Athens.

– During a trip to Chicago, I scored my first pair of cowboy boots and a Burberry coat. Both thrifted. Both have been worn and worn and worn.

Our first Halloween in the city was a success, with thrifted items and TJ’s wine.

OK, maybe that wasn’t “a quick” look back. I’m very wordy.

Another thing that happened this year? Jenny and I took a few boat rides.

I think I’ve definitely come a long way this year with regards to my style — and it’s certainly changed a bit more since moving to NYC. The best thing about starting this blog, though? It actually encouraged me to get out there and thrift rather than relying on H&M, Target and Forever 21 for my wardrobe. I’d say I now wear at least one thrifted piece a day (on average), and that definitely wasn’t true a year ago. (And where would I be without my adored Burberry trench coat???)

Coming soon: A review of some East Village thrift stores!

Thanks for sticking with us this year!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 5:53 pm

    Happy birthday, guys! It’s been fun reading of all your adventures (sartorial and otherwise) this year. Even if we’re hundreds of miles away from each other, I’m really happy and proud of you all. Here’s to many more Thrifty Threads anniversaries!

    • November 30, 2010 9:46 pm

      Thanks, JoAnn! It’s been great to use the blog to keep up with Jenny and Katy first, and now Mel and the girls in ATL. You know we love your blog too! I’ll let you know the next time I’m in Athens. Hopefully I’ll get there when I’m in Georgia for Christmas. I need some Grit in my life.. 🙂

  2. November 30, 2010 10:10 pm

    I found this post from the link on Grady’s Twitter account, and I have to tell you, the post on NYC gamedays made me feel a lot better about my plan to move to the city in the spring. I work in fashion and I’m moving for my job, and although I know people in the city, I still have a bit of nerves about the impending move. I had heard that Village Pourhouse was the place to go for UGA alums, but seeing the pictures was very comforting! I’ll be sure to bookmark you guys and check back.

    • November 30, 2010 10:27 pm

      Hi, Amanda! Thanks for the comment! The Village Pourhouse is definitely the place to be for UGA games. It’s tons of fun and there are lots of alumni there. Definitely let me know if you want to grab drinks or something when you move to the city! (And be thankful you’re moving after winter!)

Trackbacks

  1. Sartorially resolved. « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

