Skip to content

Some reflection

November 30, 2010

104774015
Yea yea, I know. Katy’s been a bad blogger. I feel like I say this a lot. Maybe I should take that as a sign. But I swear! I have good excuses, also known as my thesis and a trip home to Atlanta to spend Thanksgiving with the family. Don’t hate me!

Anyways, I know that everyone else has expressed their memories of the past year and some of the highlights of the first year of Thrifty Threads. I can still remember the discussions early on and it’s crazy to see how far things have developed.

What has also developed in the past year in how I look at fashion and my personal style. I feel like through the process of documenting my fashion life through these posts, I have finally begun to realize the clothes I like to wear and what style I try to exude. I don’t fit in to one category, but I’m fine with that. I also realize that clothes don’t have to be expensive for you to look like a million bucks.

This year my eyes were opened up to the wonderful world of thrifting. I had never one bought an item from a thrift store, and now, they are some of my favorite places to shop. I’ve shopped my stash to re-find lost treasures in my own closet. I’ve realized my hall mirror and Droid make for great self-portraits. And I’ve also fallen in love with the fashion blogging community all over the internet. I love visiting my blog feed each day to see which inspiration I can draw from women just like me.

So there is my open letter of thanks to everyone who has read and supported Thrifty Threads in the past year. And I promise, more Droid + mirror photos of me to come!

And just for fun, here is one of my “what the heck was I thinking” fashion moments. This is slightly embarrassing, but hey, we’re all friends, right? And to think, this was only three years ago…oh how far I’ve come (or so I think.)

n4901355_38866536_6564

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 10:08 pm

    Such a great post, K! It’s so great that you’re loving thrifting now — seriously one of the best deals around out there.

    I love your blast from the past photo, though I don’t think it’s that bad. I love looking at old photos and seeing how much has changed…

Leave a Reply

