Skip to content

Looking Back and a Giveaway!

December 1, 2010

We’re still celebrating 1 year here at Thrifty Threads!

Just over a year ago, this was only an idea we were g-chatting about. We never imagined we’d be featured by WordPress! So many things have changed over the last year – new homes, new jobs – but Thrifty Threads has continued to be a fun outlet to write about topics I’m truly interested in. I’ve also thoroughly enjoyed connecting with others who share these interests! Thank you so much to all of our loyal readers!!

With Thrifty Threads, I’ve certainly gained a new appreciation for thrifting. I always enjoyed it before, but now it’s my primary form of clothes shopping. Just yesterday as I was walking into work, I realized everything but my shirt was thrifted. “Everything” includes my flats, dress pants, blazer and scarf.

I’m not sure if I’ve ended up saving money or simply doing more shopping because the prices were right (chalk it up to “research”), but the quality of thrifted clothes (so many name brands!) is frequently better than items I’ve bought from Forever 21 and H&M. (Though I still enjoy these stores.) Aside from quality and cheap prices, knowing that I’m re-using clothes and accessories is a good feeling.

Now for our first-ever Giveaway!

As part of our birthday celebration, we want to thank you, our readers, by sharing our love for thrifting. This is only the first of several, so stay tuned!

I picked up this Kenneth Cole Reaction handbag at my local Goodwill during my Blazer Extravaganza. I love the color and think it will be a versatile accessory to almost any outfit.

Want to win this handbag? All you have to do is leave a comment by Tuesday, Dec. 7 at midnight telling which post from the past year was your favorite and why. We’ll randomly generate a winner to be announced next Wednesday.

Good luck, and thanks again for coming back again and again!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexis permalink
    December 1, 2010 10:33 am

    My favorite was your post on secondhand stores in Wicker Park! I just moved there and used it to scope out the best places to thrift.

  2. December 1, 2010 3:38 pm

    My favorite set of posts came when the ladies of Thrifty Threads devoted a week to men’s fashion. Clearly, women are always paying attention to what us guys are wearing, but it was cool to read their observations and tips. Congrats on the anniversary, ladies!

  3. Morgan permalink
    December 1, 2010 4:07 pm

    I really enjoyed the post about cutting the fat talk and how important it is for ladies to dress for their body type and in clothes that FIT!

    I really enjoy it all though! I have no fashion sense and have tried to gain some through your posts. 🙂

  4. Shannon's Mom permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:27 pm

    I love the post about Shannon thrifting in Chicago. That kid is like her Nana, she could find bargains anywhere too!!

  5. Shannon's Mom permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:36 pm

    I also loved Melanie’s get your deal savvy on – nothing is better than getting a deal on something you gotta have!

  6. taylordahl permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:06 pm

    I loved Katy’s post on scarves! I know Katy knows her scarves, so it was cool to see her wear a scarf a different way each day of the week. I’ve now worked scarves into my work outfits, too! Congrats on your one-year anniversary! Taylor

  7. Serena permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:33 pm

    I really enjoyed Katy’s series on shopping her closet. It inspired me to go through my closet and try to mix things up a bit!

  8. December 1, 2010 11:04 pm

    I liked the Chicago posts, too! congrats on a successful year!

  9. Kathleen permalink
    December 2, 2010 9:06 pm

    Love the blog, gals! Keep up the great work. 🙂

    I think my favorite post from the past year was Game Day in NYC. I loved seeing pictures of what other people were wearing while they were out and about rooting on their favorite college teams (even if that team is Georgia *grimace*).

  10. mai permalink
    December 5, 2010 1:41 am

    I liked the Holiday Gift Guide post because it gave me ideas for the Secret Santa I’m participating in. Thanks, and congrats on the one year anniversary!

  11. Sara permalink
    December 6, 2010 5:03 pm

    I think my favorite post was the ‘Explaining Fashion’ post earlier this year that featured ‘Clarissa Explains It All’. Not only did I get to reminisce about the 90’s and the crazy fashions of the time but it made a good point at the cyclical nature of fashion…which can be good thing if you are hunting for clothes at a thrift store :).

    Congrats on the 1-year anniversary Thrifty Threads! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Making a list and checking it twice « Thrifty Threads
  2. Drumroll please… « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

