Skip to content

Making a list and checking it twice

December 2, 2010

Guys! If you haven’t entered our first giveaway, what are you waiting for? It’s super easy — just go leave a comment!

It’s time for me to buckle down. Even though it reached 60 degrees in New York on Wednesday (I know!), it’s December. (Also. The high today was like 43 or something today.) Winter is coming. And I think I’m both mentally and sartorially prepared for it. (Although I’ll let y’all know how my thin Georgia blood handled it come March.)

I have … the coat.

Purchased at the Nordstrom in Indianapolis, Ind. during the Half-Yearly Sale for a mere $99, this baby reaches my knees, has a removable faux-fur hood and is abso-freakin’-lutely warm. I love it more than I expected to love a down coat. Also, it’s not entirely shapeless, as it nips in a bit at the waist when it’s zipped. (I realize you can’t tell from the above photo, but even so, major plus.)

I have … the boots.

Again, purchased in Indianapolis, this time at the Clark’s store in the mall, marked down to $100 from $160. (Thanks, Mom and Dad!) A plus: the store shipped the boots straight to my NYC apartment so I wouldn’t have to drag them home on the plane. I was reluctant to look in this store, but it just goes to show you never where you’ll find the perfect pair of shoes. I love them because they’re waterproof, rubber soled and not too dainty … although I’m still lusting over these Frye boots.

I have … the gloves.

It wasn’t exactly difficult finding the right pair of gloves since H&Ms and Forever 21s are a dime a dozen here. BUT! I did find fingerless mittens, which means I can still use my iPhone while wearing them. A major plus. (I did purchase normal gloves as well. I wear them during runs.)

I have … the hats.

Photo via Mandi Woodruff

They give me hat hair but there are so many cute (cheap) options everywhere I turn around.

I have … the running leggings.

In case you were curious, that’s NOT me. (You’re not getting that photo.) (Well, check back in a few weeks after my upcoming races.)

Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I’d wear a pair of spandex leggings in public — much less run in them! But here we are. These are from Athleta and I actually really like how they fit. (I know, I was shocked too.) They keep me warm during my outdoor runs, and I will certainly be donning them for my 15K on Dec. 19. (Pray for me please.)

I need … an earwarmer.

For running outside! I hate when my ears are cold while running, so I this is something specific I actually want to purchase. Luckily, Groupon had a great deal for $50 toward The Running Company the other day, so I snatched that one up.

I need … wool socks.

Again, these will probably be purchased this weekend at The Running Company. If I’m running 6.2 miles at 8 a.m. on Sunday, I don’t want to (totally) freeze.

What are some of your winter staples? Do you forget about dressing fashionably and just layer it all on or do you pick stylish basics that will fit a variety of situations?

Anyway, I’m sure you guys will hear me complaining talking about how cold it as nauseam as the season progresses. So, I will leave it at that. Peace.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:52 pm

    Scarves! And not the fashion-accessory types (sorry). Actual, heavy, knitted scarves (which can still be pretty) can keep you amazingly warm. You don’t actually realize the awesome job it’s doing until you forget it one day. Plus they help ease the chapped lips in the wind.

    Also, when I moved to Cleveland I bought a real pair of snow boots. Generally, when you live in the north, you surprisingly don’t need snow boots, because they actually understand the concept of ploughing the streets and clearing the sidewalks. BUT, on those days when the city just can’t keep up, out come my fan-tabulous Goretex boots. Super super warm and 100% waterproof. They were a present from Dad, as I wasn’t really able to fork out the $200 as a freshman in college (ok, that’s still true).

    In answer to your question at the end there, function definitely trumps fashion for me when it comes to winter outerwear, but they don’t have to be mutually exclusive. Your coat, which is excellent, is a great example. Walking 3-4 miles a day in college in Cleveland, however, taught me the value of functional warm clothes. Every January we had a week or two with wind chills around -15, and let me tell you, if you managed to convince yourself to go to class, you really couldn’t care less what you looked like, as long as you could still feel all your body parts when you arrived.

    • December 5, 2010 5:24 pm

      I’m not sure how I forgot to mention scarves … I even took a picture of mine! I have a few, but my collection could definitely be better. I am not jealous of the lake effect you guys had to deal with in Cleveland, but the whipping winds here are quite enough for me.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    December 5, 2010 11:34 am

    I think as long as you have a solid pair of winter boots (waterproof) and puffy coat that generally go with everything, you can have some fun with scarves, gloves, hats, etc. I try to match my outfits with those. Also, I’m getting into earmuffs lately.

    I wish my puffy coat had some shape to it. There is no cinching whatsoever.

    You’re going to need gloves with the fingers once it gets to be January-ish and you can’t feel your face. 🙂 Just sayin’.

    • December 5, 2010 5:25 pm

      I have some legit gloves too, but I prefer the other ones. 🙂

  3. Mekelle permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:47 pm

    Oh I’ll have to try those running leggings you have! i just commented about the nike ones I have on facebook haha. I love the gloves! I should get some. And an iphone to go with them of course.

    • December 5, 2010 5:26 pm

      Yes! I may have to try the Nike ones – especially if I can get them at an outlet or something. For this morning’s race I just layered a long-sleeve race T-shirt over a Nike Dri-fit long-sleeve tee and wore the leggings. I really like the Athleta ones – I read a bunch of reviews of several other pairs before I committed to those ones.

  4. graduationday permalink
    December 5, 2010 8:20 pm

    Forget those Frye boots – I ordered several pairs trying to get the correct size and they all felt terrible once I got them on my feet. Plus, they’re way expensive when compared to what you got!

    • December 7, 2010 12:13 am

      Really? I thrifted a pair of Frye cowboy boots and I love them! I’d definitely buy them in the store to make sure they were OK first, but for now, I’m sticking with the cheap(er) ones. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

