Skip to content

Making it work

December 7, 2010

Yes, I am quoting Tim Gunn in the title of this post. That’s what I kept telling myself as I tried to pick outfits for this post.

So in D.C. (especially today and yesterday), it is frigid. Like wish-I-had-a-heated-coat cold. Of course I always say in the summer I wish for winter and in the winter I wish for summer, but now I gaze upon my summer wardrobe in hopes of donning them by the pool soon.

While I am generally inclined the wear pants and sweaters throughout the winter months, I decided to challenge myself to find new ways to wear some of my favorite summer dresses, but transitioned to winter. Now, this isn’t really the hardest thing when you think about it. Toss on some tights and a cardigan and BAM … winter appropriate work outfit. But I wanted to mix it up a little bit.

IMAG0059Dress: Forever 21, Blazer: thrifted, Tights: Target, Boots: Target, Necklace: Plato’s Closet

This outfit began with me wanting to find a new way to wear this blazer and ended up spurring my winter transitional post idea. Yes, I know, a blazer isn’t that much different than a cardigan, but I think it is pretty snazzy. Sadly, the reason I bought this dress is for the cool lace detail in the back, which you obviously can’t see with a blazer covering it, but this warm coral color transitioned well to winter wear, with almost a pumpkin-feel (fashionable pumpkin).

 

IMAG0061Dress: Thrifted from Rag-o-Rama, Shirt: GAP, Tights: H&M, Shoes: Target, Necklace: Forever 21

Now this one posed more of a challenge for me. I got this dress during our Thrifty Threads adventure in ATL back in February and had only worn it a few times. There are no words to describe how much I really LOVE this dress. I love the ruffle collar. I love pockets.  Win. So in order to make it work, I decided to layer this long-sleeve shirt underneath. I’ve had this shirt since high school (judge away). I always wanted to try the shirt-under-a-dress layering look, and I rather liked it. I think it translated much better in person thought … trust me.

IMAG0070Dress: Forever 21, Black pant leggings: Forever 21, Cardigan: Forever 21, Books: Rack Room Shoes

This was probably my favorite outfit (and the most Forever 21-tastic of them all). This dress is quite short (as in if I don’t wear tights or leggings, there might be some indecent exposure). But I really love the reddish-pink color and the ruffles. I was actually laying in bed one night when this outfit popped in to my head. And it was magical. I am taking a note from Shannon on the kinda-like-leggings-but-kinda-like-pants deal, and there are super comfy. It was like wearing PJs to work. I think my love of this outfit had a lot to with my new-ish boots. My boyfriend had to get new sneakers and Rack Room was running a buy one pair get one half off sale, so I scooped these up for 20 bucks. They are actually a deep, deep charcoal gray and muy comfortable. They make me feel saucy.

So there you have it. A trip down winter weather fashion lane. I definitely think I will continue to find some fun new ways to incorporate more summer dresses in to my winter wardrobe, and if I stumble across anything noteworthy, I will be sure and let you know.

What are some of your favorite transitional techniques?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 2:38 pm

    I reallllly like the long-sleeve shirt underneath that dress. Great combo, especially the light blue w/ the cream.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s that time of year « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

