Skip to content

Sartorially resolved.

December 27, 2010

Merry (belated) Christmas! Who’s ready for 2011?

Personally, I can’t wait to see what the new year has in store. 2010 has been so ridiculously insane (in both good and bad ways), and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve already done a year in review post for our one-year anniversary, so I figured I’d look forward and discuss some sartorial resolutions (inspired by fellow UGA alumna JoAnn).

1. Buy shoes that are both practical and stylish. It’s oft repeated and true – New Yorkers’ primary mode of transportation is our feet. The subway is functional, cabs are convenient for those super-late nights, but first and foremost, we’re walking. I left several pairs of stilettos and heels in Atlanta, and I haven’t looked back. Wedges, flats and boots are all now the stars of my shoe collection. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect pairs of black and nude pumps, though.

2. Make an effort to buy pieces that can easily be remixed. My new-to-me (thrifted) leopard coat (pictured, left) is fabulous, but I can’t wear it with anything other than black without feeling ridiculous. (Luckily, the majority of my wardrobe is black. I’m such a cliche.)

3. Experiment with different silhouettes. I tend to go for the skinny pants/longer shirt combo, but as I was flipping through my January fashion magazines, I noticed the trouser cut making a comeback. I think my hips would appreciate a good wide-leg pant, provided the waist is high enough. I’m interested to see how this plays out.

4. Thrift more. Unless it’s a basic piece (my favorite black skinny pants, American Apparel tees), it’s probably to assume I bought it at a thrift store. I really would love for the majority of my wardrobe to come from thrift stores – not only is it better for my wallet and the environment, the pieces are generally more unique. (This may seem to conflict with #2, but I think it’s possible to find statement-making pieces that can still be remixed in different ways.)

5. (Try to) wear colors more often. I loved basic black before my NYC move, but since July, I’ve definitely fallen into a color rut. Black-jeans-black-shirt-black-boots-colorful-scarf is great, but I need to mix it up a bit more. I make no promises on this one, though, as black is New York’s staple color for a reason.

Are you making any sartorial resolutions for 2011? more thrifting? saving money? different styles? new colors? Please share!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 6:17 pm

    Great resolutions! I especially love the one about trying different silhouettes — I want to be able to wear high-waisted trousers before the end of the year.

    That leopard coat is a beauty — it does look like it could be a remixable piece though. I bet it would look great with other neutrals as well (like brown, tan, etc.) as well as a deep red.

    Happy New Year, Shannon!

    • January 5, 2011 6:28 pm

      I didn’t even think about red, JoAnn! Thanks for the idea. And I don’t have too many neutrals – mostly just black. 🙂 Hope you and Jeremiah had a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

