Skip to content

New year, new closet?

January 3, 2011

I’ve been living in my current apartment (OK, it’s not really “mine,” per se, but whatever) for just about two months now, and tonight, I finally organized my closet. And you know what? I have a lot of clothes.

(I’m sure you’re all totally shocked about this.)

Note: this is NOT my current closet. Despite my rent being more than double what it was in Atlanta, I have one-fourth the closet space. Oh well.

Once I finally organized my closet by coats, blazers, cardigans, dresses, skirts and tops, I counted 22 (twenty! two!) dresses hanging.

And that doesn’t even count the ones I deemed “too summery” for winter and stowed in plastic containers underneath my bed. (I don’t even want to talk about what else is in those containers.)

So, as a little “New Year’s resolution” if you will (I’m not really a huge fan of NYRs, but it’s a new year so I may as well call it one), I’m going to try to “shop my stash” and do some more remixing than usual, a la Katy.

I don’t want to make this a strict “no shopping” thing, because I don’t function well with hard and fast rules like that. (For example, I would never give up chocolate or cheese cold turkey.) But, I am trying to save (even more) money and I think a little challenge to wear what I already have will help a bit. And honestly, I have a lot. And I end up wearing the same 8 things all the time. (Seriously, I have this one black cardigan from Old Navy that has seen better days. About 20 washing machine cycles ago.)

Do you guys find yourselves doing this too — wearing the same few articles of clothing again and again, despite having lots of other options that fit you perfectly well? (Or am I just a victim of a too-small closet, sample sales and thrift stores?)

Next week, if you guys are interested, I’ll update you on my current progress. The goal here is to wear items I don’t normally wear, wear commonly used items in different ways and save money.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 4, 2011 2:16 pm

    Hehe, I wear the same things…but I get annoyed with all the other crap taking up space so I donate it. Hence, I lack the extra items to “shop” from.

    Hope NYC is still treating you well, despite the disaster weather they had last week. I’ll be passing through tomorrow, but just in the bowels of Penn Station on my way to Philly (again).

    • January 4, 2011 2:28 pm

      Haha all the other stuff in my close is perfectly fine, which is why I’m annoyed w/ myself for not wearing it all more often!

      NYC is great, I (blissfully) missed the worst of the blizzard, as I returned from Christmas in ATL on Dec. 28. Enjoy Penn Station (ha!) and good luck in Philly!

      Also, I ran into your mom at the bagel place in Acworth last week! It was great to see her. 🙂

      • Laura permalink
        January 4, 2011 5:46 pm

        Glad you weren’t stuck in the snow…or in the airport attempting to return to the snow!

        In answer to your recent comment re: the lack of NY train station pics, I sadly didn’t get to leave the train. The most of my Manhatten exposure was from across the water as he got into town. Great view at night of the skyline though, and one I’ll be repeating soon 🙂

  2. January 4, 2011 2:26 pm

    I’ve been trying to wear more of what I have but I keep finding cute things at Goodwill. Maybe I should stay out of Goodwill…Hmm…

    And I, too, have a ton of summer stuff under the bed.

    • January 4, 2011 2:30 pm

      Haha, I’m definitely going to be making more of an effort to stay out of the thrift stores! (And the fact that I got a new debit card and no longer have the number memorized makes online shopping a little bit less accessible.)

      I don’t know what I’d do without my storage space under the bed. Even with my closet, wardrobe and dresser, there’s not enough space…

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting! 🙂

  3. Katy permalink*
    January 4, 2011 3:22 pm

    After being pretty good for awhile (I blame Christmas for getting my shopping mojo going), I kind of fell of the wagon recently. I bought three new pairs of shoes, countless bras, and a few things from Goodwill. I feel like I am telling myself “It’s cool, you got a new job and a raise,” but the last thing I need is new clothes. I will also be on a no buy. No mas.

    • January 4, 2011 5:01 pm

      It’s really a twofold issue for me — I need to save money AND I have way too many perfectly good clothes that I don’t wear. Hopefully it’ll be a win-win.

  4. sondic permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:58 pm

    Sounds like you might need to get some friends together and have a clothes swap! It will help you thin your closet (i’m the biggest hypocrite for even typing that) and maybe replace your old navy sweater with something not so faded!

    • January 4, 2011 5:04 pm

      Definitely a good idea, and something I’m pretty sure we’ve blogged about before. I gave a bunch of clothes to fellow blogger Melanie when I moved to NYC, but aside from that, we haven’t done too well at swapping clothes. It needs to happen!

  5. Melanie permalink*
    January 4, 2011 6:51 pm

    I definitely only wear a few things in my closet despite having it organized and being able to see most of it. I do better with mixing up accessories/tights/shoes, I think, even though I may be wearing the same dress or top.

    Either way, I need to work on wearing more in my closet — or get rid of it!

    • January 5, 2011 11:49 am

      Well I got rid of tons of stuff six months ago so I don’t think I’m quite ready for another purge. I WILL branch out and try different combinations/remixes and wear items I haven’t worn in awhile. For example, today I’m wearing a dress I probably haven’t worn in 10 or 11 months. (In my defense, it’s kind of a silky dark wintery dress.)

  6. January 4, 2011 10:32 pm

    i’m definitely bad about not wearing all the things i have. esp when i’m in a weird weight funk… which will probably be until the end of time for me. or at least until i have this baby and get on a treadmill somewhere. ha!

    • January 5, 2011 11:50 am

      You totally have an excuse! Love your pregnancy fashion posts, though. Looking good!

Leave a Reply

