Skip to content

Thrifted inspiration

January 4, 2011

So, I had taken about a two month break from thrifting. After going at it pretty hardcore, I grew tired of looking through what seemed like the same stuff. So I decided on Monday to take a little trip to a Goodwill and Salvation Army near me just to see what caught my eye. My goal was to avoid buying things I wasn’t absolutely in love with.

Well, luckily for me (but not my wallet), I found some really awesome things. Then I immediately got home and decided I’d create some outfits for the items that I bought to share with you guys. It’s just because I love y’all so much.

IMAG0089New item: Jacket, from Salvation Army. Tank: Forever 21. Pants: Salvation Army. Heels: Salvation Army

This is a very Salvation Army-licious outfit right here. I saw this jacket as I was heading to the fitting room and tossed it on my pile. It looks a little bulkier in this pic than it does in person. I feel as if I would probably wear it with a tighter pair of pants next time. I really love the pattern and it buttons up in a double-breasted manner which I think looks pretty cool too.

IMAG0093New item: Skirt, from Goodwill. Top: Charlotte Russe. Black flats: Chinese Laundry via DSW

This skirt was the first item I was drawn too. It is actually a tad bit too much in the waist, but I used some safety pin action to make it work and it blended in quite nicely. I just really loved how flowy it was and the gray and lime green mixed together. I was saying in my 2010 video about how I didn’t have very many exciting skirts, and I feel like this adds some pizazz to my closet. It will also be super cut in the summer. (P.S. I would really be wearing tights with this outfit and the next one in real life, but didn’t feel like squeezing in to them for these pics).

IMAG0092New item: Cream top from Salvation Army. Skirt: Target. Black Wedges: MIX No. 6 via DSW.

This outfit and the next are two of my options for my first day of new job outfit. So let me know your thoughts. I was most attracted to the buttons on this top. They are black with gold outlining. You also can’t tell in the pic but it has a little bit of texture to it, and I really like the collar. It is a petite size so the sleeves are a little short and tight if I button them, but I kinda like the look of them unbuttoned.

IMAG0091New item: Navy blouse from Salvation Army. Belt: Forever 21. Pants: Wal-mart Shoes: Target

I LOVE this blouse and this is the outfit I had in mind when I was trying it on. I have just really been in to navy lately and this really fits the bill. I love the ruffle detail on the top and love the cinched wrists that create a flowy sleeve. This is also and option for my first day of the new job. Want to look all important and such.

IMAG0088New item: Stripped jacket from Goodwill. Tank top: Forever 21. Jeggings: Forever 21. Boots: Target

I saved my favorite outfit for last. It’s a shame I can’t wear denim to work or I would be wearing this outfit right now. This jacket was stashed in the skirt rack at the Goodwill I went to, but I am really glad I found it. It has a similar neck and collar to the cream top above and I really like the fact it is cropped sleeves as I roll most of the sleeves on my blazers up anyways. The buttons on this jacket are really cool too. These new boots were a post-Christmas purchase and have to say that I love them as well.

So there are my new thrifted items, all of which I am very pleased with. I also bought a gray and white checked button down at Salvation Army but didn’t post it here. Not quite sure why I didn’t, but oh well.

Which outfit do you think I should wear to work? Have you found any good new thrifted items lately?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 5:29 pm

    I love those Target boots in the last picture. My cognac Kady boots need to be re-soled. (Is it ridiculous to get Target boots re-soled?)

    Personally, I’d go with option 2 for the first day of work. I realllllly like that navy top and it looks so great with the yellow (gold?) belt. Ha, this is just like the first day of school back in the day.

    • Katy permalink*
      January 4, 2011 6:42 pm

      I’m thinking about taking a pair of Target heels to get new little pad things on the bottom of the heels. When you love the shoes, you gotta do what you gotta do. Those boots of mine are pretty money though. I got them when I didn’t get the Steven Madden ones I asked for for Christmas and couldn’t shell out the money for them. The Target ones were 50 which was pricey for Target, but I think they are worth it.

  2. Beth Farrar McMillan permalink
    January 4, 2011 6:34 pm

    Obsessed with the houndstooth jacket!

    I vote cream top and skirt for the first day of work. Classy, cute, a little bit of that 40s/50s charm — what’s not to love?

    • Katy permalink*
      January 4, 2011 6:43 pm

      I was actually looking for something houndstooth as I wanted around the store and as soon as I saw that, I had to have it.

  3. Melanie permalink*
    January 4, 2011 7:00 pm

    LOVE the skirt and the navy top! Love all of your finds really. I’m going to have to try my luck at thrifting again soon — it’s been a while.

  4. January 5, 2011 6:20 pm

    You are an epic thrift store shopper, you know that? I love your shopping pieces because I get to ooh and ahh over your awesome finds.

    I love the gold/yellow colors in the houndstooth jacket and skirt. And yes, that navy ruffle top is perfect for the first day of work! Hope it goes well!

Trackbacks

  1. Swaps away « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

