Skip to content

Swaps away

January 12, 2011

One day late on posting this week, so I hope everyone’s patience has paid off. I’m typing this from my brand new (to me) desk at my new office in downtown D.C., so I hope that makes this post feel a little bit more … political? (Not really, but just felt like throwing that in there).

I know that both Shannon and Melanie have swapped clothes in the past, so it isn’t a foreign concept to this blog, but I, myself, have never participated in a clothing swap. This past weekend, my roommate and I invited over a few friends for the First Annual Katy and Steph Clothing Swap-a-palooza. Now, I have been purging a good deal from my closet in the past months, so I felt as though I did not have a lot to contribute. But boy, was I wrong. My pile was still the biggest of us all. I also threw in some jewelry, nail polish and a pair of shoes in for the taking as well.

The last thing I needed was more clothes, but I did pick out a few things which I am excited about.

IMAG0095Left: Express Right: Target

I have actually borrowed this cardigan from my roomie before, so I decided I might as well scoop it up. And plus, it’s always good to have red clothes when you are a UGA alum. The purple shirt I wore to work on Monday.

 

IMAG0096(Not sure of where either is from)

I had just said in my 2010 faves that I didn’t own too many exciting skirts, so these will be a nice addition to my closet. I had actually been eying these in my roomie’s closet for awhile, so I’m glad she put them out for the taking. With these and my new skirt from Goodwill, I will be all set.

 

IMAG0097(Both from somewhere in London. Incredibly lame picture, but you get the point)

I couldn’t resist new scarves now could I? Both are very sparkly and dainty, which are unlike anything I won. The silver one almost looks like a necklace when looped around my neck a few times.  My friend brought this back from when she studied abroad a few years back.

I also walked away with a new perfume (pink grapefruit from Bath & Body Works) and a necklace, which I forgot to take a picture of. Oh, and a pair of cropped brown cargos.

I highly recommend doing a clothing swap with your friends. Have snacks and drinks to make it a fun evening in, especially if you live in any of the 49 states that are affected by snow right now. It gives you the chance to unload some clothes and to find some new-to-you items. Plus, it is highly entertaining to play dress up with your friends.

And if anyone wants to send some of their unloved clothes my way, I will gladly take them off your hands.

Have you ever done a clothing swap?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 9:50 pm

    I love swapping clothes and cocktails, so I love this idea. Unfortunately a lot of my NYC friends are skinny-minnies so idk how this would work.

    I especially love that green skirt! Let us know how you wear it!

  2. Katy permalink*
    January 13, 2011 12:37 pm

    I am actually wearing it today. If I can take a pic in my work bathroom without looking like a crazy, I will show you.

Leave a Reply

