Skip to content

These are a few of my favorite things…

January 13, 2011

This is my way of doing a Top 10 of 2010, completely after the fact. Do you forgive me?

2010 was a pretty big year for me. Moved to Atlanta with my boyfriend, and we now have two sweet, lovable, crazy cats. I also quit a job that I knew wasn’t something I wanted to do long-term to take a job I really enjoy. Plus we completed our first full year at Thrifty Threads!

So without further ado, here are a few of my favorite things from the last year (in no particular order).

1. Floral Summer Dress

I picked up this dress at a small boutique when my boyfriend and I took a long weekend in Asheville, N.C. It was about $30, which is a little pricey for me, but I’ve worn it plenty of times (when it was warm) to make up for it. If I’m not mistaken, I believe Shannon even borrowed it before she moved from Atlanta.

2. New (to me) Purse


This Helen Walsh purse came from Plato’s Closet for about $10. This was one trip I went there specifically searching for shoes and accessories (you can find some great stuff there!), and walked away with this, a few bracelets, a necklace, a pair of boots and a pair of flats (see #3). I’ve used this purse regularly since I got it early last summer.

3. Flats

I couldn’t pick just one pair, so I decided on two. The silver pair is from Plato’s Closet ($6), and they go with everything! The blue peep-toe pair (Target, maybe $15) I just love because they’re so much fun to look at, and they make me think of spring.

4. Flower Earrings

This pair of earrings has a little bit of sentimental value because my mom bought them for me at a Premier Designs jewelry party we went to together and ended up having a lot of fun. Although they were definitely pricier than I would normally spend ($40), I really do love them.

5. Gray Nail Polish

I talked about how much I wanted this color in September. After borrowing a friend’s Essie Chinchilly after she saw the post, I ended up buying my own on Amazon. Then I happened to be wearing it while at lunch, and one of my male friends caught sight of my nails and exclaimed, “Are you wearing gray nail polish?!” We then had a conversation about how it’s currently in style and it goes with everything.

6. Thrifted Dress

Stumbled upon this dress at Goodwill for about $5, and it turns out this dress works in all seasons! With sandals in the summer; with flats and maybe tights in the fall; with a blazer, tights and boots in winter; with flats and a cardigan in spring. Love it!

7. Blazer

This is from my blazer shopping trip to Goodwill. It was about $5 for this Ann Taylor blazer, and at the time it was my least-favorite. But it has gotten the most wear because the beige goes with everything and it has a great fit.

8. Brooches

In 2010, I also talked about my desire to start wearing brooches. So for Christmas, I asked for a few and got these lovely floral pieces. My mom also found the angel and gave it to me — it belonged to my aunt who passed away in 2004. I’m still working to incorporate these more into my daily outfits.

9. Cowboy Boots

Since last spring, I’d been seriously craving some cowboy boots. After many unsuccessful trips to The Clothing Warehouse in Little 5 Points, I finally found these at Target. Even though they’re not “real” cowboy boots, I still love them. What’s even better is those belts around them are removable, so if I only want one or none, they’re easy to modify.

10. Lace Tights

I got these around Christmastime (inspired by this Academichic post), and wore them for the first time for New Year’s Eve in New Orleans. I haven’t tried the layers tights look yet, but I’m planning to soon!

Whew! That was fun to reminisce of some of my favorite things. Since most of the county is suffering from freezing, snowy or icy conditions, I hope you’re keeping warm and staying safe!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Farrar McMillan permalink
    January 13, 2011 6:25 pm

    looooooove the lace tights!

  2. Katy permalink*
    January 13, 2011 6:26 pm

    Katy also loves blazers and flats! Woo!

    Love those brooches, by the way. I always wish I knew how to incorporate them more in to my wardrobe.

  3. January 13, 2011 6:49 pm

    I did indeed borrow that dress before I left ATL. It may have been a little too short.

    Those lace tights would look amazing layered over different colored tights. Let us know how you wear them!

    The only time I ever wear brooches is on the lapels of blazers. Any thoughts for incorporating these in different ways?

  4. Kristen permalink*
    January 15, 2011 12:25 pm

    First, sorry for my very extended absence…

    Second, I stated a few weeks before Christmas that I wanted to start wearing brooches, too! I got a couple of great ones for Christmas, then found a few little pins I didn’t remember I had and got a few more holiday-themed ones (total grandma) on clearance after Christmas. I love them on solid cardigans and scarves – especially crocheted or knit ones. I like your black one best of all, Melanie!

  5. Melanie permalink*
    January 18, 2011 7:10 pm

    Ooh, good idea. I should try them on scarves too!

Leave a Reply

