Skip to content

Viva Las Vegas!

January 17, 2011

In case you missed Melanie’s mention of this a week or so ago, she and I are going to Vegas in March! When I moved to NYC from Atlanta, we decided to make an effort to go on one trip together a year. This year, inspired by Katy and Jess (both of whom are fellow Red & Black alums), we’re going to Las Vegas. I’ve been once before, but I was 15, so it basically doesn’t count.

Obviously, I’m extremely excited to be escaping from the NYC cold, even though the trip is still more than two months away. (We’re leaving March 31, so we’re more or less going in April.) And I’m certainly going to be using the trip to experiment a bit with my usual style. I’m already mentally packing my suitcase with everything sequined and animal-print I own. (Don’t worry, I won’t wear it all together.) And although I don’t love bikini shopping (um, who does?), I’ll probably use the trip as an excuse to buy a new suit or two.

Vegas-Sequins

Vegas-Sequins by Shannon Otto* featuring tulle skirts

Piano Bar Cardigan
$70 – modcloth.com
Sequined tops »

Sequin Tulle Skirt
$90 – michaelkors.com
Tulle skirts »

Vegas-Animal Print

Vegas-Animal Print by Shannon Otto* featuring leopard scarves

Zebra Tube 2fer Dress
$30 – rue21.com
Zebra dresses »

Hearts & Bows Leopard Hook Back Top
15 GBP – arkclothing.com
Tops »

Leopard print bangle set
13 GBP – dorothyperkins.com
Wrap bracelets »

leopard print scarf
22 GBP – warehouse.co.uk
Leopard scarves »

Seriously, don’t get me wrong – I don’t plan on wearing an outfit entirely composed of animal print or sequins. These are just for inspiration. Upon looking in my closet, I actually own more animal print than I originally thought. But I do think it’s best left as an accent piece to neutrals such as black, camel or even red. (Animal print seems to be a love-it-or-hate-it kind of thing. Where do you guys stand?)

Have you been to Las Vegas before? Any tips on where to go and what to do? (I don’t think I’ll be super-into gambling — sitting by the pool in the dry desert heat while sipping cocktails is more my style.)

What’s helping you get past the winter blues (fashion-wise)? Is anyone else looking forward to a warm getaway?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. amy winnett permalink
    January 18, 2011 11:00 am

    i went to vegas for the first time last summer, and i loved it! definitely recommend just relaxing by the pool; it was so nice, and i somehow didn’t get a sunburn!
    i don’t know how much money you’re willing to spend, but la rev (at the wynn) was amazing! i think it was $100, but it was just beautiful!
    if you can get passes into nightclubs, do it! it’s probably cheaper, ususally comes w/ drinks, and you don’t have to wait in those ridiculously long lines! my sister did this last fall, i can ask her about it if you’re interested

    • January 18, 2011 11:34 am

      Seriously, I can’t wait to escape from this winter! It will still be cold here in March so Vegas is the perfect getaway.

      We’re staying at the Luxor and their pool opens in mid-March so we’ll probably just stay there. Those passes sound great – I’ve heard about stuff like that before but I wouldn’t know how to go about getting them. If you can find out, please let me know!

  2. Katy permalink*
    January 18, 2011 11:01 am

    Let’s discuss. For reals, Vegas is the bomb. I could write for ages in here stuff to do (gambling and non-gambling) but I feel as though it would be best to just shoot you and Mel an email…which I will do if you desire. Jess and I never went when it was warm enough to sit by the pool, so we always found other things to do.

    As for clothes, pretty much anything goes. People wear cutoff jean shorts and t-shirt while others are dressed to the nines. I always get something fun and flashy to rock while I am there, last two times it was my awesome faux leather jacket (which someone at a craps table thought was real. Thanks, Target).

    My winter getaway is going to be a trip someplace colder (NYC to visit Shannon!).

    • January 18, 2011 11:35 am

      Yay come visit meeeee!!!!!

      I would love to get recommendations from you. My one stipulation for going to Vegas is that it be warm enough to go to the pool. I’ll probably be closer to the “dressed to the nines” spectrum, although I don’t plan on going all out. I do plan on bringing my sequined NYE dress, though. 🙂

      We’re going the weekend after my March visit to D.C., so I expect lots of advice that weekend from you!

    • Melanie permalink*
      January 18, 2011 7:06 pm

      Yes! I would love another email (a la Oxford) if you have the time! 🙂

  3. January 21, 2011 5:40 pm

    Oh yay, I’m excited for you all! I’ve never been to Vegas, but I bet it’ll be a blast. I love the sequined pieces you featured.

    There’s a chance Jeremiah and I may go on a road trip this summer through the Southwest, but either way, I’m just looking forward to nicer weather where I can wear some more spring stuff…

Leave a Reply

