Skip to content

I’m dreaming of a white beach…

January 24, 2011

I really did not want to be that person who talks about the weather all the time, but when it’s 6-degrees-feels-like-negative-4 when I wake up shivering in the morning and 14-degrees-feels-like-5 when I have to run my first half-marathon (I died briefly, in case you were curious), I start dreaming of a Caribbean getaway and actually want to go bikini shopping.

Guys. I’M COLD. I still love my puffy coat and boots but I’m tired of that cold-but-sweaty feeling I have every time I get to the office. (TMI? Sorry I’m not sorry.)

Anyway, in an attempt to liven things up a bit, I’ve started donning new combinations of dress-cardigan-(or blazer)-tights-boots. Or, at least, I’ve been trying to. I’ve pulled out more of my more summery dresses and layered them with tops to create pseudo-skirts. I’ve been mixing up my jewelry a bit more. I’ve been remixing different pieces to get new(-ish) outfits. I’ve even (gasp!) been attempting to not wear all-black. Cheery colors in dreary weather definitely perk me up!

(Sidenote: I know not having photos to illustrate this makes me like the worst style blogger ever. But hey — I never claimed to be a style blogger. Next week. Maybe.)

How have you guys been livening up your winter wardrobes? And who wants to join me on a beach getaway?

First two photos via my mother

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 24, 2011 10:23 pm

    Sorry, still loving my winter 🙂 We went for a long walk in the snow yesterday that culminated in an impromptu snowball fight in the park near our house. I could not have been happier.

    I am starting to look forward to new clothes though, especially since I’ll finally be getting a PAYCHECK soon! Until then though, it’s back to scrubs over t-shirts for me. My 100% hospital-blue style isn’t very thrilling for your blog.

    • January 24, 2011 10:34 pm

      I wouldn’t say I’m *over* winter – I could handle the cold until it got to single-digit temps. Running in it Saturday morning was NOT fun. Although the snow in Central Park was pretty…

      P.S. Hooray for a paycheck!!!

      • Laura permalink
        January 25, 2011 8:27 am

        Alright, I’ll agree that running a half-marathon in that weather would suck. Maybe *that’s* why I don’t run? Sure, that’s what I’ll tell myself 😛

  2. January 25, 2011 7:23 pm

    I really miss summer too. I’ve been pretending it’s getting to be springtime by pulling out some more dresses from the back of my closet.

    Also, congrats on finishing up your first half marathon! Seeing your tweets about running makes me want to try my hand (feet?) at being a runner again … I’m definitely NOT a natural at it, though 🙂

    • January 25, 2011 9:09 pm

      Thanks so much, JoAnn! Seriously, if I can do it, anyone can. I was the kid who HATED the mile run back in the day. I’m certainly no natural — Saturday’s race did NOT go so well, but it just means my next 1/2 (in March!) will be faster! 🙂

Leave a Reply

