Skip to content

If You Want to Be Fancy in Your House…

January 26, 2011

My roommate told me about pajama jeans, the latest in infomercial fashion, the other day and I was so confused. In a world of Snuggies and Slankets where Americans everywhere are letting themselves go in the home (and in public! Let’s not forget the “Snuggie pub crawl”!) I didn’t understand why someone would care enough about their appearance in the home to the point that they felt they needed to wear jeans. What a silly, non-lucrative idea. Then I watched the ad…

Got it. Pajama jeans are for people who want to take the essence of the Snuggle lifestyle in public without necessarily admitting it. (Or, for small number of people who want to look fancy in their house.)

Yes, the “jeans “are especially easy to make fun of with the purple, glittery background, the ’90s music, the free grey crewneck tee, and the ridiculous portrayals of how hard it is to put on a pair of skinny jeans … (OK, well maybe that’s a little accurate. Amirightladies.)

But I have a few questions here. Cotton denim spandex blend? Um, how are these different from the “jeggings” trend of summer 2010, or just really awesome stretch jeans? You can easily find pants or jeans these days with enough stretch to resemble the legging, but enough jeansy features (back pockets, etc.) to make them workwear acceptable. For less than $40 might I add.

Anyway, if anyone buys these, I’m super interested to hear about them. And even with all of my criticisms, I have to admit that I secretly want a pair.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shelby Clarke permalink
    January 26, 2011 7:22 pm

    I would totally get a pair! They look more polished than leggings and would be great for bloated/sick/overtired days!

Leave a Reply

