Skip to content

First 30 for 30 Challenge

January 31, 2011

Lately I’ve been feeling uninspired by my wardrobe. So this weekend as I was catching up on blog reading (in mid-60-degree-weather, no less!), I realized the 30 for 30 Remix Challenge would be the perfect way to coerce myself into being more creative with what I have.

Being new to this whole thing, I feel like I had an especially difficult time picking pieces. I imagine it’s never easy, but it’s especially daunting for a first-timer.

Through the process, though, I’ve discovered I need to work on building my shirt collection. Sure, I have a bunch, but I generally only wear about five of them. I also need to aim for more pattern, fewer solids.

In advance, please forgive me because I only feel I can commit to weekly updates. I’ll be taking photos as I go, of course, but don’t see having the time to post anything coherent each day. With that said, here are my 30 selections to create 30 outfits:

Good luck to all fellow Remixers!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 12:22 am

    good luck!!!! 😀 you’ve got some great pieces lined up!

  2. Melanie permalink*
    February 1, 2011 9:24 am

    Thanks, Lisa! Can’t wait to share what I come up with!

  3. February 1, 2011 9:42 am

    I definitely have to work on my shirt collection too. As you (probably) know, I generally just buy dresses but I’ve been trying to change that for the past six months. And I have to say, I love the variety of your shoes! Would you believe me if I’ve said I’ve worn the same pair of black boots for three weeks straight? I have to get the soles redone on my Target Kady boots – they’re definitely not snow-ready!

    • Melanie permalink*
      February 1, 2011 10:10 am

      Yeah, I have that same problem with buying dresses. I do try to change of up my shoes. Obviously boots are my favorite right now though! Gotta keep those toes warm…

      • February 1, 2011 11:56 am

        P.S. I love that I see a few of my old items in there. 🙂

        And I’m starting today too, so I guess I already have five items included! Hopefully I’ll find new ways to wear a lace tank top from Target!

  4. February 1, 2011 10:07 am

    Yay for remixing! Like m you included a lot of color–I’m excited to see your outfits!

    • Melanie permalink*
      February 1, 2011 10:11 am

      Hooray for color! 🙂 I’m excited to see what you come up with too!

  5. Katy permalink*
    February 1, 2011 12:33 pm

    I seriously commend you (and Shannon) for doing this. The more I think about it, the more trouble I would probably have. I am so indecisive. I will pick out one outfit before I go to bed, then I get up and end up wearing something totally different. I also think it would be hard for me to balance items that I could wear to work, but then also wear about and about on the weekends. I look forward to seeing your outfits!

    • February 1, 2011 12:46 pm

      Yeah the weekends are going to be tough. Luckily my office is super casual so a lot of times if I end up going out after work, I’m fine for either one. I foresee a lot of switching btw blazers and my cropped leather jacket for those kinds of situations!

Trackbacks

  1. Shannon’s 30 for 30, Day 1 « Thrifty Threads
  2. There’s a dupe for that « Thrifty Threads
  3. Melanie’s 30 for 30 — Days 24-30 « Thrifty Threads
  4. Year in Review — 2011 « Laughing Lantern
  5. Parting is such sweet sorrow | Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

