Skip to content

Shannon’s 30 for 30, Day 1

February 1, 2011

Along with Melanie, I’m participating in the 30 for 30 remix challenge (check out the full list of bloggers here). To be totally honest, I probably didn’t put as much thought into my 30 items as I should have. However, here’s what I came up with.

Sidenote: Some of these pics are blurry. It’s late and I’m lazy. Please deal.

1. Purple skirt, Zara (thrifted)
2. Black shorts, Forever 21
3. Black skirt, Target

4. Skinny jeans, Gap
5. Skinny black jeans, Gap

Also, please note that is a wine bottle lamp, not a random wine bottle, on my nightstand. Just sayin’.

6. Black floral dress, F21
7. Black lace dress, Target
8. Black and gray color-blocked dress, Thakoon for Target
9. Turquoise dress, Ross
10. Black sequined dress, ModCloth
11. Tiered dress, Target
12. Black dress, H&M

13. Black top, Old Navy
14. Purple top, Target
15. White top, Gap
16. Zebra print top, H&M
17. Lace top, Target
18. Gray top, Kenneth Cole (thrifted)
19. Leopard print top, vintage, thrifted
20. Black tank, The Limited

21. Cropped leather jacket, thrifted
22. Black cardigan, Gap
23. Blazer, Target (may be swapped out for another black blazer)
24. Gray cardigan, Gap
25. Gray blazer, sample sale
26. Zebra print cardigan, F21

27. Cognac boots, Target
28. Black boots, Clarks

Phew.

Now, I know I’m not the greatest at math (J-school represent!), but even I can count to 30. I’ve left two options open, which most likely will go to shoes. You may be surprised to see only two pairs of shoes on this list, but you may be even more surprised to learn that I’ve literally worn that black pair of boots every single day for the past three weeks (at least). Those cognac boots (from Target!) have earned themselves a trip to the shoe repair store and are heading there this weekend so they’ll be ready for the slushy streets of Manhattan.

(Personally, I was surprised by the number of tops vs. dresses in this collection. I’ve been making an effort to buy more tops in recent months, and apparently I’ve succeeded. Also, I own a lot of things from the Gap.)

Aaaand just for good measure, here’s what I wore today. Apologies for the iPhone snaps, hopefully these will improve as the 30 days roll along.

For those keeping score, this is 4 + 17 + 20 + 21 + 28. And also my Old Navy scarf, H&M gloves, H&M hat and new coat from ModCloth.

Happy remixing!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 1:14 am

    good luck! i know what you mean…i’m thinking maybe i shoul’ve put more thought into my stuff. meh. it’s just fun! good luck to us all. 🙂 and i have those same target boots (black & brown) and adore them.
    -brittney
    http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (fellow remixer. obv.)

    • February 2, 2011 9:25 am

      Thanks, Brittney! I’m going to add your blog to my reader. 🙂

      I love those Target boots – I actually originally bought them in black as well but for some reason they didn’t hold their shape as well as the cognac ones so I left them in Atlanta.

      P.S. I also am a big fan of the ellipsis.

  2. Katy permalink*
    February 2, 2011 12:13 pm

    I spy a lot of black in those pieces. Gosh, you are such a New Yorker.

    • Melanie permalink*
      February 2, 2011 12:50 pm

      Yeah, Shannon. I don’t think you have enough black in your wardrobe. You should go buy some more. 😉

    • February 2, 2011 1:10 pm

      Haha. This way all of my clothes match.

      But I will say it’s sometimes difficult to find specific items because everything is black. Oops. 🙂

  3. February 2, 2011 3:44 pm

    Loved seeing your picks! I like the combination of the longer tunic tank with pants.

    I am really excited to see how you pair that sequined dress in other combinations. Also, nice to see those cognac boots are in your mix (they’re still a favorite of mine, too)!

    • February 2, 2011 3:48 pm

      Thanks, JoAnn! I almost exclusively wear tunic-style shirts with my skinny pants – especially since it’s still boot weather here in slushy NYC!

      The sequined dress will be a bit of a challenge, but I wanted to include it because I was already planning on wearing it to a friend’s birthday party in a few weeks. Maybe it, too, will become a tunic? 🙂

      And although I haven’t worn my cognac boots in several weeks (they sorely need new soles), I’ll be taking them to the shoe repair store this weekend. And I still need to figure out my final two picks…

Trackbacks

  1. There’s a dupe for that « Thrifty Threads
  2. Shannon’s 30 for 30, Week 1 « Thrifty Threads
  3. Parting is such sweet sorrow | Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

