Skip to content

There’s a dupe for that

February 2, 2011
by

Let me begin by commending both Shannon and Melanie on their quest in the 30 for 30. I flirted with the idea myself, but considering how many times I change my mind about my outfit every morning, it would end poorly (i.e. with my shamefully cheating) and I wanted to avoid that. Who knows…maybe one day I’ll decide to do a remixing challenge, emphasis on the challenge.

Now on the real reason I’m here. I’m going to help all my makeup-loving readers out with some tips on dupes. What is a dupe you say? Well, for those not familiar, a dupe is a term that is used to describe a product that is a “duplicate” or a match for another product. There are tons out there in the beauty world. A lot of time, you can dupe a high-end product for one found at the drugstore and save yourself a chunk of change.

I’ve never been shy about my love of makeup. I’ve talked about it many times on this blog. I have accumulated quite the makeup stash in the past few years (ever through the shame from both my mother and roommate). I have plenty of makeup dupes in my collection, so I decided to share some with you. There are tons of dupes out there, and tons of places on the internet where you can find lists and list of them. I’m not going to bore you with multiple posts every dupe under the sun. These that follow are just some of my favorites.

dupe3I’m going to start with foundation first, as it is the basis for any good face of makeup. Not everyone wears liquid makeup, but if you are in the market for a good one, here it is. I have been using NARS Sheer Glow for a few months now after I bought it in a blog sale. Anyone who knows about makeup brands knows that NARS isn’t cheap, and this foundation retails for $42. And it’s a great foundation. But luckily, I’ve found a cheaper alternative, the above Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup. You can get this at any drugstore and it retails for about $12, and sometimes you can get it as part of an offer (another great thing about drugstores).

dupe5 dupe4

Next is blush, and I have two. The one on the left is Wet n Wild’s Ultimate Mineral Bronzer in Amber Glo ($4, drugstores). This is a dupe for the MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Stereo Rose that was limited edition, highly sought, and $28. On the right is a dupe for the infamous NARS Orgasm which I know others on this blog love in addition to me. NARS blushes are great quality and worth the price ($26) in my opinion, but for about $7, you can get the Milani Luminous blush which is almost exactly the same, and in my personal opinion, just slightly better. But, to each their own.

1489275

For eyeshadow, I recommend Cover Girl’s Eye Enhancer in Mink ($3). This is a dead ringer for  MAC’s All That Glitters, which retails for $11 or $14 depending on weather you get it in a pot or a pan. This looks really good on blue eye (which I have), but I think it would compliment everyone.

dupe2

One of my favorite mascaras is L’Oreal Voluminous ($5). This is a great GREAT mascar for volumizing. LOVE IT. Can you tell I love it? Anyways, it’s also a good dupe for YSL’s Faux Cils, which I admit, I have never shelled out the cash for ($28) so I can’t tell you the comparison on me, but I have it from good sources that it is a good dupe.

dupe1

Last but not least is nails. I love this one polish from Sephora call Metro Chic. Whenever I wear it, I get asked a ton of questions about it, and usually, the person goes and gets it (I am just that power). It’s a great color. It’s like a taupe, purple, grey … if that makes any sense. It is great on the nails year round. But I have now been telling people to grab Rimmel’s Steel Grey ($7) at the drugstore. Now the difference in price here isn’t that major (only about $2 bucks), but drugstore products are a lot more accessible to more people.

So that is it. I suggest checking these out if you feel so inclined. Everyone likes new makeup.

Do you have any great beauty dupes?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:34 pm

    I can never find L’Oreal’s Voluminous mascara. It was my favorite! I’ve been using CoverGirl’s Lash Blast Volume, but it doesn’t hold a candle to Voluminous…

    • Katy permalink*
      February 2, 2011 4:01 pm

      I found mine at CVS, which always seems to have it. My two favorite drugstore mascaras are that and then Maybelline Full & Soft. I’m not a huge Lash Blash fan, to be totally honest. I don’t like the brush.

  2. February 2, 2011 3:50 pm

    Gasp — there’s a dupe for Nars’ Orgasm? That’s amazing. This is such a great post — I never really thought about there being less-expensive versions of high-end makeup, but I guess it makes sense, since I’m assuming it can’t be too hard to figure out the formulas for different pieces. To be honest, I am pretty reluctant to buy some makeup at drugstores (it can be hard to figure out which color of foundation/lipstick is the right shade, especially when there aren’t many testers) but this is giving me more reason to try.

    Now, if there were a dupe for Dior’s Diorshow mascara or Airflash Foundation, that would be so great.

    • Katy permalink*
      February 2, 2011 3:57 pm

      L’Oreal Full Definition Voluminous…I’ve heard that is a Dior Showdupe. I’ve never tried either so I can’t tell. There are actually quite a few dupes for Orgasm, and not just as the drugstore. MAC’s Springsheen is also a good dupe.

      To be honest, I have never been color-matched for foundation at a counter or store before. The closest was when I asked the Sephora chick which Bare Minerals color I should use. And I’ve been doing off that. The website Temptalia (Temptalia.com) has a great Foundation Matrix where if you know your shade in one thing, it can give you suggestions for what your shade would be in other brands. Like I’m Fairly Light in Bare Minerals which means I’m close to NC20 in MAC and then Gobi in NARS. It’s a great resource, and it also has drugstore foundations. I’ve actually had great luck with it too. I bought the NARS Sheer Glow blind using only the matrix as my guide, and it is a perfect match.

  3. Jess permalink
    February 2, 2011 3:54 pm

    The Steel Grey Rimmel nail polish has been my go-to color for a couple of months now. I chip my nail polish like crazy, but I love how long that one lasts. It actually costs more like $3.50 at Wal-Mart or HEB.

    The best dupe I’ve tried is for the lipstick Vanessa Paradis is wearing in the Chanel Rouge Coco print ads (http://tinyurl.com/6aoc9du) – Revlon Colorburst in Soft Rose. Also, there have been a couple of times I’ve seen a display for NYC makeup that actually says what product it’s duping – the formula, not necessarily the colors.

    • Katy permalink*
      February 2, 2011 3:59 pm

      Yea I’ve heard about the NYC displays, but have never seen them. I have one of their blush sticks and it is allegedly a dupe for Benefit’s Coralista.

      I actually have that Revlon Colorburst in Soft Rose, but I don’t think it looks good on me at all. Maybe now with my darker hair.

  4. February 2, 2011 10:51 pm

    ughh i barely wear makeup but these pretties make me want to 🙂

  5. February 3, 2011 9:53 am

    Ummm is there a dupe for Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer? That ish has been my go-to makeup all winter but it’s forty-freaking-two dollars at Sephora. Although come to think of it, it’s lasted a really long time.

    Regardless, how did I not know about these? And more importantly, where can I find a list of dupes?

    • Katy permalink*
      February 3, 2011 2:10 pm

      I’ve heard at the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Enhancer is a LM TM dupe (and it’s 9 bucks, but I haven’t tried it). I also use the LM TM even though I have the smaller one that I got in a kit (I think you can buy it on Sephora.com, it’s like the travel size). I tried the Aveeno one out and didn’t really like it very much. I suggested to JoAnn to check out the Temptalia dupe list (Just google it and it will come up). It has more dupes than you will ever imagine.

Leave a Reply

